Social Media

19 Jul

I’ve thought a lot about social media this week. These thoughts were prompted by the release of Google + and the many Facebook statues I’ve seen since “offering” invites to people. I have a Facebook (FB) account and a Twitter account and quite often I write the same on both. I’m really thinking about shutting my Facebook account down. Right now, the only thing that keeps me on it, is loosing contact with some people. I prefer Twitter, not only do I feel like my privacy is protected better on there, but I also don’t get the constant negativity or “I want to be the center of attention” vibe that is so often on FB. I’ve thought about de-friending people who I am in contact with regularly and just staying friends with people who I do not live close to, so we can keep in touch. This could really offend people though. The other thing that makes me stick with FB is that sometimes I only learn about a gathering going on due to an FB event invite. It seems to be getting more common to only invite people to things through FB now and not via email or telephone. As you can see I’m kind of in a catch-22 situation with FB!

Do you think there is too much social media in our lives? Do we need, or more so, is it wise, that so many sites can contain information about us? These days do you think it’s possible to live without social media? If you could only belong to one site which would it be? How much time do you spend using social media each day? Do you consider it a waste of your time and a hindrance from doing other things? What are the benefits of social media?

5 Responses to “Social Media”

  1. Jim Lehmer July 19, 2011 at 12:03 #

    See my prior blog post on how to set up a single FB group called “Allowed” that limits who can see your wall and posts, and then hide the status updates from anyone else you don’t want to see. In effect, you’re “unfriending” people without they’re being able to tell (because FB still shows you as friends, even if they can’t see anything you do and vice versa). Just like I hide all notices from apps regardless of who the person is (so Farmville doesn’t exist for me on FB, because I never see anything about it).

    I use FB (and now Google+) differently than I do Twitter. I try to keep Twitter more to professional contacts (but fail, since my eldest daughter and some other friends are on it, too). I consider it more of an online “clipping service.” Similarly LinkedIn is 97% professional contacts and is more of an online rolodex than a social networking site (to me). FB is where all my friends and family are, and I would be loathe to lose that contact now, even as I wish/hope everyone migrates to G+ for a variety of reasons (privacy, better control over visibility, no Farmville, etc.)

    Per posting in multiple places – check out ping.fm. I use it, it allows you to multi-post from their web site, email, SMS, etc., so you don’t have to go to each service to post. Now if/when they add G+, I’ll be set. :)

    Finally, per your question, while obviously we all could live without social media, I’d hate to, since I get a lot of news from family/friends that way.

    And I’d hate to lose contact with you!

  2. lynhallewell July 19, 2011 at 12:20 #

    Thanks for the link!
    I can’t decide what I make of Google + but I was like that with Twitter for some time. I agree about the games etc on FB. How is the privacy better on Google plus?

  3. Jim Lehmer July 19, 2011 at 13:39 #

    I think on g+ privacy is better more because it is simpler rather than that there is any fundamental difference in capabilities. If you think of g+ “circles” as FB groups, you are basically at the same place. However, it is easier (I think) to get people into g+ circles, including multiple circles, and there is better/easier control over making sharing decisions on a post-by-post, album-by-album basis. Including the ability not just to share something with circles, but with individual email addresses as well (including email addresses of people not in g+!)

    The other thing I like is if you were a user of Picasa on the web (I was), then uploading photos and videos (up to 15 min. long) to g+ puts them in Picasa and doesn’t count against your storage limit. They are (for now) saying photo/video uploads are unlimited. Which is compelling as a possible way to back up photos even if you never share them with anyone.

  4. lynhallewell July 19, 2011 at 15:32 #

    Thanks Jim, that’s really helpful info :-)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I was invited to Google+ about two weeks ago and I know what I like! | Renaissance Jack ™ - July 28, 2011

    […] Social Media (lynhallewell.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

