Stumbling into Grace – book review

3 Aug

Stumbling into Grace: Confessions of a Sometimes Spiritually Clumsy Woman by Lisa Harper is a book which is part devotional and part memoir. I have never read anything by Lisa Harper before and all I can say to that is that I have missed out! From the very first page of reading “Stumbling into Grace” I thought that Lisa Harper could be one of my friends. As I read I felt like she was in the same room as me, drinking coffee and talking. Lisa’s writing style flows very easily. She is very witty and down to earth. One moment you will be laughing your head off and the next feeling close to tears. Lisa has the ability to take moments from her life’s experience  and, with insight, apply the word of God to it. At the end of each chapter there is a prayer, followed by personal/group reflection questions and then a space for a journal entry. I found the personal reflection questions really helpful, to go through at the end of each chapter, in order to go deeper on the chapter topic on a personal level. Topics covered in this book include things such as fear, forgiveness, humor, rest and honesty. Stumbling into Grace is a really quick read and I would recommend it to anyone. I’ll definitely read more of Lisa’s books.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Thomas Nelson Publishers as part of their BookSneeze.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

