Book Review – Tyndale

18 Jan

Tyndale – The Man Who Gave God an English Voice is a superb book authored by David Teems. Teems book tells the story of the fight Tyndale and had with the  Catholic Church and others to translate the Bible into English, so that English speaking people could read or hear the Bible in their own language and understand it, rather than just having the Latin version. During this treacherous  period Henry VIII was King of England and Martin Luther was writing texts, including his 95 Thesis.

Teems shows in his book how translating the Bible into English was a dangerous thing for Tyndale to embark upon. He was labelled a heretic and ended up in exile, in Germany, for eleven years, until he was betrayed and ultimately executed. Tyndale found himself with a lot of enemies due to his persistence to translate the Bible, including Sir Thomas More.

I really enjoyed reading this book and have to confess that I knew little about Tyndale prior to this. I didn’t realise that before the KJV, Tyndale had already published the New Testament in English. Also, through his translation, Tyndale introduced many new words into the English language. Sadly, within months of Tyndale’s death, the publication of an English Bible was granted by the King.

Teems has researched and written this book incredibly well. I have learned so much, not only about Tyndale, but also about the early Reformation and the cost to the men who persevered with what they believed to be right. The people against his translation made have thought they had silenced Tyndale, with his execution, but, Tyndale’s legacy lives on today. 

I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com book review program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising


 

2 Responses to “Book Review – Tyndale”

  1. Jim January 18, 2012 at 22:51 #

    I read another biography of Tyndale some years ago (“William Tyndale: If God Spare My Life,” by Brian Moynahan). From that, I gained a deep appreciation for him, and in fact Tyndale is one of my “heroes of the faith.” OTOH, I also gained a strong dislike for “Saint” Thomas More.

  2. lynhallewell January 18, 2012 at 23:24 #

    Yes, I definitely have a tainted view of Thomas More now! Prior to reading this book, I just presumed that Tyndale lived in the 17th or 18th century. I never knew he was responsible for so much of the translation of the Bible into English. It was something he deeply believed in and was willing to die for.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

