Leaving Church

4 Mar

I’ve been meaning to post this thread for about a week now, but have only now got around to it. For a while I was following a post on Jason Clarks blog called They like Jesus but not the church at about the same time Andrew Jones posted a thread called Leaving Church. Both of these posts created a lot of interest from people and are of an interesting read. I think anyone involved in church should read these posts and comments, some people have really been hurt and scarred by the church’s actions. I guess a lot of us on the “inside” have as well – maybe we just haven’t reached the point of no return yet. For me I’m convinced that there is something different, a different way of doing church. I believe that’s what Jonathan and I are called to do. If you can read more, then the following site is also good Lettersfromleavers.com

8 Responses to “Leaving Church”

  1. gaz March 5, 2007 at 07:58 #

    I really hope the leaving church stuff becomes a non taboo conversation. Seems such a whisper in corners at present. Read a book called savage shepherds about the abuse of the shepherding movement. Made me think we need a church abuse version of childline!!! Ill man it!
    Also meat a great guy in ireland who is writing The Omega Course (the end) strapline: getting people out of church (and back following jesus). Im pretty excited about that one.
    g

  2. lynhallewell March 5, 2007 at 10:08 #

    The Omega Course sounds really interesting – have to find out more about it.
    I could just imagine you with a phone headpiece around your head (umm cap!) what about one of those nice tan coloured ones which make the wearer look like they have a giant pimple on their cheek!! You’d have to think of a good name – Churchline doesn’t have the same ring to it, BUT, I can already think of plenty of people we could send your way!

  3. Dave March 6, 2007 at 00:06 #

    Good to read some of your stuff, hope you make it on the outside, its a good (hardish) place to be.

    Dave

  4. lynhallewell March 6, 2007 at 14:13 #

    Thanks for your comment Dave. We haven’t come out of church, I didn’t mean for my post to allude to that. My husband is a church pastor and we have been on a very interesting journey over the past 4 – 5 years. We are very much in tune with the Emergent church and see so much more for church than what we currently experience. Making it on “the outside” for us will probably mean church planting, be that a home plant or a building. BUT it will look very different to “regular” church. Maybe it should be called a community plant rather than church plant. Anyway, that is in the future for us, when God indicates to us that the time is right, for now we enjoy pastoring and discipling others and trying to be the church Jesus intended.

  5. Dave March 6, 2007 at 22:48 #

    Thanks Lyn, sounds like a good journey either way, in or out of church (though we are all in THE church) anyway.
    Hows about it, I am a church pastor as well and we are on a journey, we planted church up here but it has now become so fluid that I have absolutely zero control over where it goes, it reaches into different churches and into the community, we don’t meet as such in a concrete building but we meet a lot…oh its just to much to tell in a few comments.
    Listen though, if you find yourself stallin on the way to Canada then come and plant a church up here for a while, strange cos I posted on it just the other day, it was called…Loss and Redemption in Macedonia…and it was on my blog a few days ago.
    This is the double bestest place to raise children in the world, we love it, we moved up here so I can do a degree in theology and this is now our home.
    Interesting to see you spent some time in Bournemouth, we had a woman (Shannon Byous) staying with us a while, do you know of her, I think she was part of a emergentesque type thing down there once.

  6. lynhallewell March 8, 2007 at 15:05 #

    I haven’t heard of Shannon before, but I’ll have to ask Jonathan if he knows her – he knows way more many people than me! My sister in law lives in Dundee they have just found an emergent community there which they feel really “at home” with. We are spending a week at Nairn in August, going around Inverness and Moray Firth etc so I was interested to see that Dingwall is nearby. Scotland is definitely a place we enjoy visiting. It would be good to hear more about your journey – I will spend some time reading your blog later.

  7. Dave March 8, 2007 at 15:55 #

    Thats interesting, I know some of the Free Church people in Dundee, hope what they are with works out (it will do, things always work, even if they look like they fail)

    Do you have friends in Nairn? Its a nice place, hope the weather will be good for you.

    I get in a lot of trouble for my blog, religious people seem to struggle with it? Not much I can do about it, it is just an expression of my walk, hope you enjoy it, I am enjoying reading yours and your hubby’s, always good to read new blogs.

    Are you a nurse (RN), my wife is in her 2nd year of training as a nurse right now.

    Peace
    Dave

  8. lynhallewell March 8, 2007 at 16:02 #

    Yes, I’m an RN but kind of like the church I’m a bit disillusioned with the NHS, so I’m having some time out (I re-registered this past September so my registration is good for another two and a half year).

Leave a Reply

