Jump

11 Mar

Grace run a lent weblog which they have been running for the past five years. It’s a good place to visit if you want to read something inspirational everyday throughout lent. Mark Waddington posted a few days ago under the title of jump (I’ll leave you to click on the link and read the post). The post made me reflect on how I have got into that way of thinking in my own life. Particularly I find myself thinking “when the children have grown up …..” God has been speaking to me and showing me a lot about life over the past few weeks. Our life is for living now, it’s not to be put on hold, tomorrow never comes for some people. There is so much I want to do, but I have the mentality which says “you can’t do that with the kids”. The fact is though, this is life, everyday I wake up breathing I’m living life. I don’t feel like I’m doing it in a very productive way at the moment. I should be showing my children how fun life can be, not waiting until they have grown. At the end of the day everyday with them is life. I often say to Jonathan that I feel like we are just existing, we are not really living life. I know everyday can’t be a bungee jump experience, but there is more to how we are doing things now. I think some of it is just the British psychy, at the end of the day there isn’t that much for families to do here, not like we’ve experienced in other countries – we just kind of plod on here. In a recent UNICEF poll British children were said to be the unhappiest in the developed world – that’s really sad. Like Mark’s post insinuated sometimes you’ve just got to jump in with both feet and let the rest will sort itself out.

2 Responses to “Jump”

  1. Dave March 11, 2007 at 12:32 #

    Nice post…you both must be busy posting…I wrote a similar thing the other week at

    http://gardenofrenown.blogspot.com/2007/02/time-is-now.html#links

  2. lynhallewell March 12, 2007 at 16:24 #

    Mmmm, yes I agree with what you wrote Dave. I must link your blog up to here. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

Leave a Reply

