Feeling Helpless

16 Mar

I’m feeling pretty helpless tonight. Yesterday I went to a domestic violence forum and heard some shocking situations despite the fact that I witnessed my mother as a domestic violence victim and my sister has recently been in the same situation. Daily the news is filled with tragedies. Tonight I’ve been watching footage of HIV/AIDS in Africa and how it tears families apart, my heart breaks for all of those orphans. On top of that children and adults are still dying in their thousands from Malaria every year. The poverty is indescribeable. Why is there so much poverty in the world still when we in the west are so rich? – our individual circumstances may not make us feel rich, but we our compared to our brothers and sisters in under developed countries. I hate the injustice of the world. I feel so inadequate and want to help everyone.  I never feel like I’m doing enough.

5 Responses to “Feeling Helpless”

  1. Dave March 16, 2007 at 23:52 #

    why doesn’t God do something?

  2. Jon Hallewell March 17, 2007 at 08:26 #

    He’s in us, and asking us to do something – something about ‘away with the noise of your songs, but let justice flow like a river …’ comes to mind

  3. Dave March 17, 2007 at 08:54 #

    Spot on Jon, most church people would say ‘God has done something, he sent his Son’, but to that the Son would say ‘yes, and I sent you’.
    This creation is all shot to hell, from eco destruction to aids, the whole creation (me included) groans with longing under the curse. Though as people redeemed from that curse we can simply begin to show people, through physical and spiritual acts, what new creation looks like.

    Really enjoying both your blogs right now, thanks Dave

  4. CVinograd March 22, 2007 at 17:16 #

    I came across your post, and wanted to add a bit of hope to the situation..

    I work for the Pulitzer Center on Crisis Reporting, and amidst what can seem like endless desperation there are some really wonderful people doing all they can to help out. Take a look at a recent project of ours,
    http://pulitzercenter.org/showproject.cfm?id=26
    that sent Vermont high schoolers to Rwanda, to meet with AIDS orphans there who are learning about AIDS prevention while gaining job skills.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. jon hallewell » the Spirit of Adventure (am I crazy) - March 17, 2007

    […] WHAT I FORGOT TO ADD – On the other hand, I think there are so many problems in the world, as detailed in Lyn’s post – that all of the above seems a little hedonistic – a bit, LIVE 4 ME!!! Maybe, somehow, the two can go together. adventure, faith, life […]

Leave a Reply

