Opening up a can of worms

27 Mar

OK, so as the title suggests, I’m probably about to open up a can of worms. Potentially at the end of this post I may find myself totally isolated by everyone I know, but this post has been in my head for over a week now, and I’ve just go to let it out! Those of you who read my blog from around the world will probably not know anything about this, but to those of you in the UK, with one word the chances are you will know what I’m on about – SORS (Sexual Orientation Regulations). This is a new law to come into effect as of the end of April which means people cannot be discriminated against because of their sexual orientation. I think this is a good thing, as we should all be treated fairly. This law has caused quite a stir in the christian community though, you have groups such as Anglican Mainstream who claim that christians will now be persecuted due to this law, and that ministers could be sent to jail for saying that homosexuality is wrong, and for refusing to marry gay couples etc. Then you have groups like Faithworks who are effectively saying to the christian community “don’t get your knickers in a twist” (underpants to those of you across the pond!). Personally I am leaning towards the faithworks view. Why? Well to start with Jesus calls us to love others. When he was on earth he would have prostitutes, adulterers etc with him. Now he never told them that approved with what they did, BUT he loved them. We have to have grace for people. I’m not sure if I think homosexuality is right or not, but it’s not for me to judge – sometimes we need to take the plank out of our own eye before we point out other peoples splinters. Why is a homosexuals sin greater than mine? It’s simply not. The other issue I have with christians getting so irrate with Sors is that they will readily say “homosexuality is against God’s word – it’s in the bible, it’s a sin.” There are a lot of things in the bible which are sins – such as adultery, divorce etc. Yet we don’t bat an eyelid as having ministers working in our churces these days who have divorced, remarried etc. There seems to be a grace for this kind of sin, which there wasn’t even 10 – 15 years ago. Why are we trying to have double standards? It’s issues like this which push the church further and further away from the society we are trying to reach, thus making us even more irrelevant. As Jesus said to the men who brought him the woman caught in the act of adultery (why didn’t they bring the man as well?) “Let him who is without sin cast the first stone.” I just think we need to stop pointing fingers all of the time, and just get out there and love – let Jesus do the work through us.

9 Responses to “Opening up a can of worms”

  1. Jon Hallewell March 27, 2007 at 13:35 #

    Well, in Leviticus is says that eating shellfish is an abomination as is shown at godhatesshrimp I’m not sure what God’s view of worms is?

  2. Heidi March 27, 2007 at 17:08 #

    Where’s the can of worms, I was expecting a wiggly can of worms?! What you’re saying sounds pretty sensible to me, and I know many who feel the same way you do. I’m glad that you went ahead and got it off your chest.

    Oh my gosh Jon, thanks for posting that site!! I thought “is this for real????” After awhile I thought, “no way!”. Too funny! I’ll have to really check it out.

    Man I hope you guys find yourselves over here some time in the not too far future. 🙂

  3. lynhallewell March 27, 2007 at 19:44 #

    I was going to post a can of worms – but they didn’t look too nice! 😉

  4. Dave March 27, 2007 at 20:13 #

    Oh no!!! I have read both sides and find I do not agree with either of them (though Faithworks is positive)oh well I suppose I will have to stick with this for comfort

    For what have I to do with judging those also who are outside? Do you not judge those who are inside? But those who are outside God judges.

    Maybe we should let the world make the choices it wants whilst we respond with love and compassion, safe in the knowledge that Gid is a right judge.

  5. Dave March 27, 2007 at 20:16 #

    Ooops, should have said God not Gid, who would worship any being called Gid!! And oops again, that comment came out wrong, I do agree with Faithworks

  6. Jon Hallewell March 27, 2007 at 20:47 #

    God’s call to be Holy is to His people, I kind of agree that it’s not our business what anyone else does. I’m impressed with Brother Andrew. I’m not comparing homosexuality with Islamic fundamentalism (would probably increase the number of hits!) except that a lot of Christians judge both. So what does he do, he goes, he loves, he serves. Read Light Force if you haven’t. I think faithworks are on the ground with all kind of people whereas anglican mainstream (supported by our church!!) seem to be a single issue from an ivory tower group. God speaks to us at the point of engagement – that is – when we go, and serve in love, we can best hear the living word for the specific living situation.

  7. Heidi March 27, 2007 at 21:39 #

    Dave and Jon, I love what you’re saying here. There’s a simple beauty to loving like God does. In other words, it keeps things from getting unecessarily complicated.

    Perhaps the biblical warning of foolish and stupid arguments can apply to stuff like this (Tim. 3:9)? Not to imply that that’s what’s going on here at all.

  8. Paul March 30, 2007 at 08:22 #

    i read a really good post on this by Rupert:
    http://rupertward.blogspot.com/2007/03/christian-spin.html

    as for shellfish etc i think we don’t want to end up confusing mores of one society with our own but there are some enduring things like justice and mercy which often mean we have to be for the other, rather than just be for ourselves and our own view of the world…

  9. lynhallewell March 30, 2007 at 14:05 #

    Thanks for the link Paul.  Excellent post – exactly what I think.

Leave a Reply

