John O’Donahue – Blessing

11 Apr

If you haven’t seen this, then go and read it at Andrew Jones or Jonny Baker’s blog. It really is beautiful.

16 Responses to “John O’Donahue – Blessing”

  1. victor j. cano January 14, 2008 at 00:47 #

    I just caught the tail end of a CBC interview with the late John ODonahue and was touched by the poem he read “November Question ” and would very much like to obtain a copy to read at my fathers funeral next week. somehow i got to your web site and hope you might be of help. thanks so much, sincerely, victor cano

  2. lynhallewell January 14, 2008 at 19:27 #

    Hi Victor,

    Please accept my condolences. I think I have found what you are looking for. Try this link http://spiritualrecoveries.blogspot.com/2007/01/john-odonohue-november-questions_18.html

    Lyn

  3. Kelly January 15, 2008 at 00:25 #

    I had just finished a lovely walk along the water yesterday and was driving home when I heard John O’Donahue being interviewed on CBC for the first time. I was absolutely taken with his words and the magical lilt of his voice. I could have listened to him forever. I was so curious to find out who this amazing man was. After he read his last poem (it was only 4 lines, but so powerful), the interviewer said that John had died last week and I truly felt sad. I am so grateful that I was able to discover the thoughts and words of this wonderful and interesting man and look forward to reading his books. The world needs more people like him!

  4. lynhallewell January 15, 2008 at 08:43 #

    Hi Kelly, thanks for stopping by! John certainly had a way with words. I hope you continue to find inspiration through his books.

  5. Laurie McLeod January 20, 2008 at 20:05 #

    I too heard the interview that day with John O’Donahue (whom I had never heard of). Now, I cannot stop thinking about him . I want to know all about him . He’s wonderful …….. so sad that he has passed. I plan to read all of his books and them pass them on to my friends. Laurie

  6. Maria Allen January 24, 2008 at 19:39 #

    Hello,
    I also heard Father O’Donahue for the first time on CBC. He told a beautiful story at the end of the interview about a woman bringing with her, from elsewhere a basket of spirit. I was wondering if anyone knew where to find it. I have been reading his poetry and it is deeply moving.
    Maria

  7. lynhallewell January 24, 2008 at 22:25 #

    Thanks for stopping by Laurie. It certainly was sad to hear of his death. Like you I only came across him recently.

  8. lynhallewell January 24, 2008 at 22:34 #

    Hi Maria, welcome! I’m afraid I don’t know where to find the story you are talking about. Perhaps read thorough his book descriptions on the internet and see if you can locate it in one of them. Alternatively, maybe search his website http://www.johnodonohue.com/

    Hope that helps,
    Lyn

  9. Maria Allen January 27, 2008 at 00:57 #

    Thank you very much, the site is very helpful and I can see his titles. I look forward to reading more of his writtings.
    Maria

  10. bernadette February 11, 2008 at 00:50 #

    isn’t life the strangest thing. I am an avid book lover and bring them with me wherever I travel. Just the week before I watched the Caroline Myss Video on the net with John speaking, making me both cry and laugh at various points throughout the talk. I was mesmorized and motivated to such a degree I dashed to find out where he was next speaking. Such sadness enveloped me when I consequently learned of his passing…I told myself to buy some of his books and do you know there in my bookcase this past 7 years was a book I bought with the intention of reading and never did…it was anam cara waiting there for me, like a lost friend ready to comfort me when I most needed it. Life and death is indeed strange. I am honoured to have met him if only for a few moments…sometimes that is all we need to change a fundamental view of life.
    berni darnell

  11. lynhallewell February 11, 2008 at 18:39 #

    Very true Berni, thank you for sharing.

  12. Ruth February 11, 2008 at 22:04 #

    Wow, how amazingly similar these stories are! Just after Christmas I was tuning the radio stations on my new CD player and heard an Irishman speaking about spirituality. It was a really bad signal and I didn’t know who he was, but as I listened I realised I recognized the substance of what he was saying. I too jumped up and pulled ‘Anam Cara’ off the shelf. Amazing. I’d had the book for years; couldn’t really get into it. I’d even contemplated giving it away. But when I reread it, it suddenly all made so much sense. I guess I was ready to receive it. He says, in ‘Anam Cara’, “The stranger does not come accidentally; he brings a particular gift and illumination.” How true it is, and what a particular gift he was.
    Ruth

  13. lynhallewell February 12, 2008 at 16:05 #

    Hi Ruth!

    Thanks for stopping by. John certainly seems to have really impacted people during his life time, and continues to after.

  14. Elisa Bongiovanni February 20, 2008 at 15:05 #

    Do we know how John died?

  15. lynhallewell February 22, 2008 at 20:29 #

    Hi Elisa,

    John passed away in his sleep.

  16. Jane Williams March 9, 2008 at 22:21 #

    Had John been ill or did he die suddenly and unexpectedly? I am just wondering whether this influenced his philosohy of death and dying

Leave a Reply

