Mary

23 Apr

I was spending time cuddling my daughter a few nights ago, very late, as she was refusing to sleep! As she was laying in my arms I got to thinking about Mary, Jesus’ mother. I wondered how many times as a child Jesus refused to go to bed. I wondered what she thought about whilst she was cuddling Him – did she really understand what His future faced? What were her fears for him? How I’m sure she treasured her cuddles with Him. Mary had a relationship with Jesus which was really special – after all He was her son. She knew the cheeky Jesus, she played with Him, she laughed with Him, she disciplined Him, she knew his scent. They had a mother – son bond. I always remember so vividly the scene in The Passion when Mary is watching Jesus carry the cross, and He falls. Instantly her memory takes her back to Him as a child when He fell, and she ran to pick Him up and comfort Him – this time she couldn’t though. How hard that must have been for her to watch her son get killed in such a brutal way. I couldn’t bear to see my children suffer so.

6 Responses to “Mary”

  1. selahV April 24, 2007 at 04:04 #

    Lyn: I wonder how she felt after her son died. I mean, I know she knew He was Who He was. But He didn’t come knocking on her door after He ascended to the Father. And so she went through grief akin to all we moms who’ve lost a son. She missed his voice, his laughter, his essence. At least I think she did. selahV

  2. lynhallewell April 24, 2007 at 09:07 #

    That’s a great point to make selahV. I agree with you, she must have missed having him around, hearing him etc. Obviously there is a lot which happened which does not appear in the bible. I wonder if he ever did appear to her afterwards, in dreams or in person, after he assended to heaven???

  3. selahV April 24, 2007 at 10:07 #

    LYN: I haven’t had my son visually appear since he died, but the Lord has granted me some “amazings” since I lost Chad. Reading your post brought some powerful feelings to surface in my grieving. And I couldn’t help but consider Mary in those emotions.

  4. Paul April 24, 2007 at 10:41 #

    that is a really moving scene in the film for me too – it just reminds me of both the joy and the pain that Mary welcomed when she said yes to God.

  5. lynhallewell April 24, 2007 at 12:12 #

    selahV I’m really sorry that your son has died. Praying for you in your grieving.

  6. lynhallewell April 24, 2007 at 12:15 #

    Paul – yes, I haven’t thought about it from that perpective before.

Leave a Reply

