Tony Blair

10 May

Tony Blair will stand down as Prime Minister on 27 June. Personally I will miss him. Being someone who grew up during the Thatcherite years, I have always found Tony Blair to be a breath of fresh air. I don’t agree with all of his policies and some of the situations he has taken us, as a country, into, but on the whole things have improved a lot under his leadership. I’m a Registered Nurse, and the health service has changed so much under Tony Blair – yes, some of it I grumble about, but the improvements to the health service have been immense. Education has improved, unemployment is down and the economy is strong. I just wanted to write a post to say thank you to Tony Blair, he restored my faith in politics. I’d love to see Tony moving into a role now where he will continue the fight against poverty and injustice.

2 Responses to “Tony Blair”

  1. John Smulo May 12, 2007 at 05:33 #

    I was hoping I’d read more on this from English bloggers. They had a story on him stepping down that I watched a couple of days ago. Thanks of sharing your thoughts.

  2. lynhallewell May 12, 2007 at 08:24 #

    I guess not many people have thought much of it. A lot are pleased he’s stepping down beause of Iraq. I do tend to agree with them in the respect of the Iraq war, I wasn’t for it, and think the whole area is one awful mess now:( However, he has been a good prime minister. I’m not sure what to make of Gordon Brown (presumed next PM), but the opposition aren’t no better either. Cameron is too smarmy for my liking, and personally the mess the conservatives left us in 12 years ago is still very fresh in my mind!

Leave a Reply

