Burning Man Festival

24 May

Some of you may be familiar with the Burning Man Festival, which Michael Frost has spoken about in the past. John Morehead has just completed his thesis on the festival, title, “Burning Man Festival as Life-Enhancing, Post_Christendom ‘Middle Way’ ” which you can download here. It’s almost 100 pages, so it’s not a one sitting job, unless you have a few hours to spare!

HT – Matt Stone

8 Responses to “Burning Man Festival”

  1. karen May 25, 2007 at 15:40 #

    LOL – when I saw the pix, all I could think of was ….

  2. karen May 25, 2007 at 15:41 #

    Um, not sure why it cut this out – lets try again…
    The Wicker Man

  3. John W. Morehead May 25, 2007 at 16:14 #

    Thanks for mentioning this, and giving my thesis some more promotion. I have enjoyed Frost and Hirsch’s commentary on the festival in their books, and am listening to Mike’s presentations now linked to the post above. I hope they and others find this thesis of interest and value to our missional work in the West.

  4. lynhallewell May 26, 2007 at 08:15 #

    Karen – 🙂 🙂

    John – You’re welcome. I have valued what I have read so far from your thesis.

  5. Erin Word May 26, 2007 at 20:52 #

    Thanks for mentioning this, Lyn. It’s relevant to me – I have siblings who “do” Burning Man.

  6. lynhallewell May 27, 2007 at 20:07 #

    Erin, I find Burning Man really interesting. There are thousands of people there who are really “doing” community together in a way I think the church should be doing. I also think the Burning Man at the end of the festival really shows that these people are searching and seeking (not sure about the naked part though – not for me!) I’ve read Dan Kimballs “They like Jesus but not the church” recently, and I wonder how many who go to Burning Man have a real respect etc for Jesus but can’t stand the thought of “church”.

  7. Erin Word May 28, 2007 at 17:52 #

    Burning Man is, in many ways, a religion unto itself. It both fascinates and repulses me.

    I blogged about it here

    And I realized I have read John’s article – I had just forgotten.

  8. lynhallewell May 28, 2007 at 18:41 #

    I’ll check out your post Erin – thanks.

Leave a Reply

