Liturgy

20 Jun

I’ve been thinking today about liturgy and whether it is over used in some churches, and not used enough in other churches? This year we returned to the Anglican church, having been away from it for over seven years. Jonathan and I are not denominational, we just go where God wants us. However over the past seven years I did miss not having liturgy present within our church service. In saying that, though, I wonder whether liturgy is used too much within the Anglican church? Liturgy is obviously part of our Christian heritage, and I believe it has an important place within new forms of church. Sometimes during a Sunday service though, liturgy seems to roll off peoples tongues, and I wonder if they are really thinking about what they are saying? I have to hold my hands up, I am guilty of this too, as you become so used to what is about to come in the Sunday service format.

I wonder if liturgy was only said every three or four weeks whether it would have more affect on peoples thoughts? Or, if it was said every week, then if it was not done in the same format week after week? Here’s the issue though, liturgy very much forms the communion service within the Anglican church, so I guess it would be hard for them to break the mold. I’ve copied below The Apostles Creed, The Nicene Creed and The Collect for Purity, for those who are interested to read them. Northumbria Community have daily offices which involve liturgy for those of you interested.

How do you use, or how would you use, liturgy within the emerging-missional (whatever your term is!) church?

The Apostles Creed

I believe in God, the Father almighty,
creator of heaven and earth.
I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord.
He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit
and born of the Virgin Mary.
He suffered under Pontius Pilate,
was crucified, died, and was buried.
He descended into hell.
On the third day he rose again.
He ascended into heaven
and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again to judge the living and the dead.
I believe in the Holy Spirit,
the holy catholic Church,
the communion of saints,
the forgiveness of sins,
the resurrection of the body,
and the life everlasting. Amen.

The Nicene Creed

We believe in one God,

the Father, the Almighty
maker of heaven and earth,
of all that is, seen and unseen.
We believe in one Lord, Jesus Christ,

the only Son of God,
eternally begotten of the Father,
God from God, Light from Light,
true God from true God,
begotten, not made,
of one Being with the Father.
Through him all things were made.
For us men and for our salvation

he came down from heaven:
by the power of the Holy Spirit

he became incarnate from the Virgin Mary, and was made man.
For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate;

he suffered death and was buried.
On the third day he rose again

in accordance with the Scriptures;
he ascended into heaven

and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead,

and his kingdom will have no end
We believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of Life,

who proceeds from the Father and the Son.
With the Father and the Son he is worshipped and glorified.
He has spoken through the Prophets.
We believe in one holy catholic and apostolic Church.
We acknowledge one baptism for the forgiveness of sins.
We look for the resurrection of the dead,

and the life of the world to come. Amen.

The Collect for Purity
Almighty God, to you all hearts are open, all desires known and from you no secrets are hid: cleanse the thoughts of our hearts by the inspiration of your Holy Spirit, that we may perfectly love you and worthily magnify your holy name, through Jesus Christ our Lord, Amen.

6 Responses to “Liturgy”

  1. Micky June 21, 2007 at 06:10 #

    I spent all my childhood in orphanages but never experienced anything as horrific as those poor children in Baghdad. About 3 years ago I dropped into a black hole – four months of absolute terror. I wanted to end my life, but somehow [Holy Spirit], I reached out to a friend who took me to hospital. I had three visits [hospital] in four months – I actually thought I was in hell. I imagine I was going through some sort of metamorphosis [mental, physical & spiritual]. I had been seeing a therapist [1994] on a regular basis, up until this point in time. I actually thought I would be locked away – but the hospital staff was very supportive [I had no control over my process]. I was released from hospital 16th September 1994, but my fear, pain & shame had only subsided a little. I remember this particular morning waking up [home] & my process would start up again [fear, pain, & shame]. No one could help me, not even my therapist [I was terrified]. I asked Jesus Christ to have mercy on me & forgive me my sins. Slowly, all my fear has dissipated & I believe Jesus delivered me from my “psychological prison.” I am a practicing Catholic & the Holy Spirit is my friend & strength; every day since then has been a joy & blessing. I deserve to go to hell for the life I have led, but Jesus through His sacrifice on the cross, delivered me from my inequities. John 3: 8, John 15: 26, are verses I can relate to, organically. He’s a real person who is with me all the time. I have so much joy & peace in my life, today, after a childhood spent in orphanages [England & Australia]. God LOVES me so much. Fear, pain, & shame, are no longer my constant companions. I just wanted to share my experience with you [Luke 8: 16 – 17]. Do you see God, when you look in the mirror? I do!!

    Peace Be with You
    Micky

  2. Paul June 21, 2007 at 23:44 #

    hi lyn, those are good thoughts – i like liturgy as a form of participation, connection and story but as with songs or anything else we can make them over familiar – maybe using them less in some places would be good, or maybe writing some new ones based on the old would also be good?

  3. lynhallewell June 22, 2007 at 22:15 #

    That’s an interesting thought Paul, on writing new ones based on the old ones – I guess a bit like the message?

    Thans for your thoughts Mickey, I’m so pleased you are free now. God bless you.

  4. sally June 23, 2007 at 08:50 #

    Interesting Lyn, I use Iona liturgies- they are contemporary, relevant and powerful, they are used on a liseten of join in basis- not with an expectation for participation ( though many do).
    I have used some of these in seminar settings withn Mind Body Soul Exhibitions as well to good effect.

    Good post.

  5. Susan S. February 25, 2008 at 20:28 #

    I know this is an older post, but I just came across it, and want you to know that it means a great deal to me and is very timely in the providence of the Lord in how He is currently leading me. Thank you so much.
    blessings,
    Susan
    http://www.desertpilgrim.blogspot.com

  6. lynhallewell February 27, 2008 at 08:53 #

    I’m glad the Lord was able to bless you though this Susan. I’ll check out your blog, thanks for the link.

Leave a Reply

