Blog reader

21 Jun

I’m really behind with my blog reading this week, as bloglines does not seem to be working properly.  Anyone else had any problems with it?  I’m thinking about trying Google reader.  What blog reader do you use?  Would you recommend it?

7 Responses to “Blog reader”

  1. David June 21, 2007 at 21:04 #

    I like Google Reader. It is easy to read and organise blogs. It also seems to keep a massive history of the blogs you subscribe to. One thing I think it lacks is a tool to search past posts, which is odd seeing as it’s a Google product.

  2. Erin June 21, 2007 at 22:25 #

    I love Google reader. I’m a devoted FF user, and I read feeds in sage for two years and loved it until I had to sync my feeds over more than one computer.

    You can custom build a search for Google Reader using Co-op, but I too am mystified about the lack of a resident search feature. I know the team is aware of that feature request, though. GReader is still in labs, this means it’s not “done” yet.

  3. Jim June 22, 2007 at 00:19 #

    Make that three votes for Google Reader. I, too, love it. And if you’re using Google Toolbar, subscribing to a new blog is as easy as clicking a button.

  4. sonja June 22, 2007 at 03:07 #

    I used to use BlogLines, but have moved over to GoogleReader in the last couple of months. I really like it. So …. you could make it a unanimous vote for Google Reader 😉

  5. John Smulo June 22, 2007 at 08:06 #

    Five votes for Google Reader. Works well.

  6. lynhallewell June 22, 2007 at 22:12 #

    I’ll have to try it out then!

  7. Jim June 23, 2007 at 02:37 #

    Something I just had a friend turn me on to with Google Reader today is the Trends link. If you read EVERYTHING (no cheating, no opening in another tab) in Google Reader, then over time it can build up trends of what blogs post the most or least, and how much or little you read them (tell me you don’t scan subject lines and then “Mark all as read” :-). If you have a lot of blogs to follow, as I do, this can help you decide whether to keep subscribing to those that post a lot and yet you hardly read, or those that don’t post at all (so why follow?)

    Just another reason to try out Google Reader.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

