Stating the Obvious

6 Jul


I’ve just seen a great post on Glenn Hager’s site called Stating the Obvious. In the post Glenn discusses Rob Bell’s comment that the church is not where you go to change the world. Glenn says that this is because the church is consumed with it’s own needs, and that many of us were sold an unintentional bogus bill of goods when about what it is to follow Christ.

I still get frustrated that some churches are so consumed with their programs that they forget to get outside those doors and be in the community around them. Time and time again I am coming across communities/organisations which are really touching the world, making a difference to peoples lives the way Christ would, yet some of these people are not even aware they are walking in this way, as they are not Christians. They simply see a need and reach out and touch it. This week has been frustrating for us, as the church committee said we were not allowed to take people out of church and disciple them to enable them to be missional within our community, issues with the church hall were more important to them. This poses the question to us as to why we are here, everything we were brought here for seems to have had the door shut. Maybe God has other plans. Maybe we were here for Ben. Pray for us right now, Jonathan is pretty down.

5 Responses to “Stating the Obvious”

  1. Mary July 6, 2007 at 20:58 #

    Lyn,

    I’ll pray for you. We know the feeling.

  2. glenn July 7, 2007 at 04:27 #

    Lyn,

    I have been “slammed” by “the church” more times than I could have imagined. I have experienced what has often seemed like a total disruption in ministry or a career path that has lasted for over five years. Yet, good has come it, at least, some of it. Being “slammed” and shut out has led me in new and good directions in which I would have never turned otherwise. It has been an emotional roller coaster and incredibly painful. Here is my problem. It is a love/hate relationship with the church. The more I hate what I see, the more I dream of it being wonderfully different.

    I have found Jon’s comments to wonderfully insightful. So, I hope that he will return to blogging and perhaps write about what you are going through. You guys are loved and you are not alone.

  3. lynhallewell July 7, 2007 at 21:39 #

    Mary – Thanks for your prayers
    Glenn – Thank you for your encouragement Glenn. I think Jon is feeling really drained right now – ministry has that effect, eh?! Sometimes we feel like we are the only ones who we know who want something different (not meaning online friends in this comment – just face to face ones!)

  4. glenn July 8, 2007 at 04:02 #

    Maybe, a little rest and powering down is in order. It is good to rest, refresh, and regroup, though I know that you both have so much to offer.

  5. Jim July 8, 2007 at 18:14 #

    Lyn,

    This post raised some questions/thoughts I would appreciate comments on. See my post here. Thanks.

    Jim

Leave a Reply

