Honesty is the best policy!

20 Jul

Ben is so cute! This evening Jonathan was making some cannelloni for us to eat for dinner. He spent ages making it (as men do 😉 ) and dinner was served quite a bit later than usual. Jonathan used some new pasta cannelloni cases which we saw whilst grocery shopping … the trouble was they didn’t cook very well! They were quite firm and chewy! At this moment I have to write that Jonathan is actually a great cook, he cooks for us a lot and makes some really great meals, it was just one of those days where it went wrong.

Ben is the pasta king in our family – he could eat pasta every day no worries! He was very pleased when he saw it was cannelloni for dinner. After a few mouthfuls he spoke up and said “Daddy I appreciate that you have worked hard making dinner, but I’m afraid I can’t eat it.” Jonathan and I looked at each other and burst out laughing – it was a moment! Meanwhile I went and threw a few pizzas in the oven 🙂

5 Responses to “Honesty is the best policy!”

  1. cindy July 20, 2007 at 23:58 #

    that’s a classic!

  2. sonja July 21, 2007 at 00:51 #

    How sweet, funny and cute … Ross makes our dinner a lot of nights too. He’s had a few that were less than … ummmm … wonderful as well. But that response is priceless.

  3. jon July 21, 2007 at 07:39 #

    The best thing is that whilst I was making the Cannelloni Lyn said “I was thinking that you should enter one of those TV chef competitions like masterchef!!!” (that was after the risotto filled stuffed peppers of the previous evening!) To be fair, I was first to suggest we may end up eating something else!

  4. Paul July 21, 2007 at 08:12 #

    pizza in the oven, my kinda dinner 😉

  5. lynhallewell July 21, 2007 at 14:05 #

    🙂 Why is it when I serve something the kids don’t want to eat I just get a “I’m not eating that” response, without the appreciation bit?

Leave a Reply

