Fragility of life

21 Jul

Life, as we know, is very fragile. Our lives are a mere speck in amongst the whole mix of timespan and universe. This past week or so I have become very aware of our fragility. You may remember a few months ago I wrote about Miles Levin, who is fighting cancer. Over the past few days it has looked as if Miles’ earthly life is drawing to a close. I really feel for this young man, he should have a future ahead of him. He recently graduated, and his peers are busy planning what college they are going to, he on the other hand, is hoping to make it until August. Sometimes life really seems to swipe some people. Pam has shared recently about the tragedies which she has experienced this month. Her father has died, her best friend was killed in a car accident along with her two year old daughter, and this week one of Pam’s son’s best friends lost his sister, 12, to cancer.

I think about death a lot at the moment. I worry about losing my husband or children, or that they will lose me. I trust God, I know he has his hand upon us, and what will be will be. I wish there was no cancer in the world, no starvation, no HIV/AIDS and other diseases that destroy people. John Smulo has posted this week about suffering, and has received some great comments.

If you have time, please go and encourage Miles (just sign up and type in Miles Levin) and Pam. I’m praying and rooting for you both.

5 Responses to “Fragility of life”

  1. John Smulo July 21, 2007 at 15:24 #

    Life, and often relationships, are fragile. Which is to also say, they’re precious and shouldn’t be taken for granted.

  2. lynhallewell July 21, 2007 at 22:21 #

    Very true John, very true.

  3. Pam Hogeweide August 20, 2007 at 08:10 #

    thanks lyn, a belated thank you for all your kind thoughts and prayers.

    sigh.

    its been over a month and it is still very hard…

  4. lynhallewell August 20, 2007 at 10:55 #

    I can imagine Pam, my thoughts and prayers still remain with you and Janene’s family.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Miles Levin : Beyond the 4 walls - August 20, 2007

    […] evening I learnt that Miles Levin, who I have written about a few times here, has passed away. I first came across Miles through Anderson Cooper, and […]

Leave a Reply

