Innie or outie?

26 Jul

Erin and Brother Maynard have both recently posted about introverts. I have found both of their posts very interesting as I am an introvert. Sometimes I have to force myself to be with people, although when I look back after an evening with friends I do generally think “that was a great time.” I do like my own space though, much more than Jonathan does. I’ve always been like it, as a child I enjoyed playing with friends, but after a while was ready to go home and have “my time.” Now I’m sounding really unsocial – which I’m not, nor do I consider myself shy – but I’m certainly not the life and soul of the party either. I do fine with people I know, but put me in a room with people I don’t know or barely know then I’m quite happy to hide in the corner and go home at the very earliest opportunity, a bit like the way the tortoise above would hide in it’s shell! I’m quite happy reading a good book, I love quietness and getting lost in my thoughts, and just hanging out with my husband and children.

I wonder how many of us out there who blog are introverts? Blogging for me gives me the opportunity to convey my thoughts and opinions without feeling under pressure from a “self-confident” person in a room with me who I – rightly or wrongly – feel is trying to patronize me. I think Erin wrote it well here:

“I thrive on the chance to give my innie a rest from perceiving. Also, when writing, I am not having to both converse and perceive at the same time – and this is much less exhausting and resource-sapping than having to convert-on-the-fly. I can write something, then read a response, then think about that response, then write my own response. I have times to process apart from having to think about what I’m actually hearing and saying.”

I’ve got to know some great people through blogging, who I think I would happily like to meet up with given the chance. It’s a great resource for introverts! Would you say that you are an introvert or an extrovert? If you’re an innie does blogging help you? If you’re an outie does it frustrate you?

6 Responses to “Innie or outie?”

  1. Erin July 26, 2007 at 18:07 #

    “I do fine with people I know, but put me in a room with people I don’t know or barely know then I’m quite happy to hide in the corner and go home at the very earliest opportunity”

    That is it exactly.

  2. Erin July 26, 2007 at 18:08 #

    Have you ever feigned illness so you can go home? That’s a true introvert, and that’d be me.

  3. lynhallewell July 26, 2007 at 18:12 #

    I’ve feigned illness so that I don’t even have to go out!!

  4. Erin July 26, 2007 at 19:27 #

    LOL! Me too.

  5. Paul July 27, 2007 at 17:20 #

    i’m an extrovert and i find blogging fun – where else can you have one way conversations 😉

  6. chill24 July 30, 2007 at 03:10 #

    100% introvert. i have good friends who know this and force me out once a week – not counting church.

Leave a Reply

