Hello World!

14 Aug

Two weeks and 1800 miles later and we’re home 🙂  We have had a fantastic time away, now back down to earth with a bump!  I’ll post some pictures over the next few days.  Scotland was so beautiful, we have only been up as far as Edinburgh in the past, so the Highlands was new turf for us all.  Loch Ness was huge – no Nessie though!  We drove over to the Isle of Skye one day  to go whale watching – no whales though 😦  I wanted to see some Orca (Killer Whales) we did see some Risso dolphins though, so I was happy with that as I’ve always wanted to see them, plus we saw some harbour porpoises, seals etc.  We drove through the Cairngorm Mountain Range on the way to Nairn – which was our base, they were really stunning.  On the way back from Skye we went via Fort William so that we could check out Ben Nevis (UK’s largest mountain) we were kind of disappointed with it, I guess we were surrounded by some huge mountains when we lived in Canada, so it seemed on the small side!  We saw dolphin in the Moray Firth, and basically wore ourselves out in a good way.  God was evident everywhere.  On our journey back we stayed overnight in the Lake District (Cumbria) which was equally stunning.  The past two days we have been in York, which is a really quaint historic city with lots of nooks and crannies to explore.  I even walked past James Nesbitt in the street, who was talking on his cell phone and carrying a gap bag!  I guess those of you across the pond won’t know who he is, he is an actor best known for starring in Cold Feet here.  I’ll write more later, just wanted to check in!  I’d appreciate prayers as well, as I’ve hurt my knee, and it is very painful to walk on …… now back to the laundry for me, sigh!

3 Responses to “Hello World!”

  1. Erin August 14, 2007 at 17:00 #

    Glad you had a good trip! I would love to see all that. Hearing about everyone’s vacations this summer sure reminds me of how little of the world I’ve really seen.

    Sorry about your knee.

  2. sonja August 14, 2007 at 21:52 #

    Yay! Lyn, I’m glad you’re home. I was just muttering to myself today that it seems you’ve been gone forever and wondering when you’d be back.

  3. lynhallewell August 15, 2007 at 08:19 #

    I’ll put some pictures up later! Glad someone missed me 😉

Leave a Reply

