You did what? ….

24 Aug

I remember a year ago or so seeing a news report about a three year old boy who had purchased a pink Cadillac on his mothers Ebay account. I thought “stupid woman, why did she leave herself signed in?” Well, today I am the stupid woman! I never leave my Ebay account signed in, but I do have Firefox remember the password. My son has been checking out Star Wars Lego figures on Ebay. Last night he told me he had bid on them. At first I thought, “whatever,” as he has told me countless times in the past he has bid, and hadn’t.

“I bid £99.99 for them” Ben piped up, at that my ears pricked up! Jonathan looked up Ebay and saw that we were indeed the highest bidder on these Lego figures, which at that point were going for £12.50. On further inspection we found that Ben had not bid £99.99 for them, but a very grand and unrealistic £999.999.00 (probably around $1.6 million) “WHAT” I screamed! Jonathan frantically retracted the bid, and we contacted the seller to apologize. We decided to honour the bid Ben had got the auction up to, so we placed a bid for £13.00. With 2 days to go we remain the highest bidder, but I’m praying that these Lego figures did not show up on my doorstep! Oh ……. and we removed the cookies, so he has no way of getting the Ebay password now! Kids, gotta love them!

I know there is probably some deeper learning from this story, but I fail to think of it right now!

6 Responses to “You did what? ….”

  1. Paul August 24, 2007 at 10:14 #

    lol – at least he has good taste to bid for star wars figures 🙂

  2. sonja August 24, 2007 at 11:07 #

    WOW … that’s alotta dough!! At least he told you. Fortunately, eBay wasn’t that big when my kids were little. YIKES 😉

  3. cindy August 24, 2007 at 15:23 #

    oh oh oh.

  4. Erin August 24, 2007 at 16:39 #

    Oops. Let that be a lesson for the rest of us. I also ought to disable 1-click ordering at sites like Amazon, same potential problem.

  5. chill24 August 24, 2007 at 16:58 #

    those ought to be some really nice legos!
    good thing he said something AND you caught it. 🙂

  6. lynhallewell August 26, 2007 at 16:58 #

    🙂 Yep, I’ve certainly learnt my lesson! He is still on about getting them!

Leave a Reply

