Forgiveness

8 Sep

forgiveness
noun
1. compassionate feelings that support a willingness to forgive
2. the act of excusing a mistake or offense

Jonathan and I were talking about forgiveness today as he is at a healing conference this weekend. He asked me if there were any things that I needed to forgive him for. I didn’t think there were, but as I’ve thought about it I realized that underneath there are a few things which I do need to forgive him for. The more I thought about these things the more I realized that these things were out of his control. I shouldn’t “blame” him for them. In the whole sphere of live these things are small, and I didn’t even realize until I thought about it that there was even a resentment there. Now they’ve come to the surface I will forgive.

On the larger scale of things I have read through a lot of blog posts recently where people are displaying pain and hurts. I think writing about these hurts is part of the healing process, as well as bringing the various pains and hurts to God. The healing process isn’t something which happens overnight, it takes time, for some people a few years.

A lot of the time the root of healing is forgiveness. When we don’t forgive then we can’t let go and move on. When we don’t forgive we become bitter, angered and resentful. It’s important that those who have been hurt through church forgive, heal and move on. The worst thing that can happen is for the emerging-missional-whatever you call it movement to be seen as a bitter and angry people. We have to move on. We have to celebrate the good things about church and encompass them in our journey and expression of faith.

I, like most of us, have my forgiving and healing to do – it’s a process, sometimes I think I’m getting there and, well, other times …….. The prayer synchroblog has actually got me thinking more about the foundation of Christianity, the roots of our faith, and how that can echo through my life today.

Now I’ve never studied Greek before, but from my research on the internet I have found a few words which feature in the New Testament when talking about forgiveness. Apoluein means “to release.” Charizomai means “to grace you.” (It hails from the Greek word Charis which means Grace). Aphiemi means “to send away.” Paresis means “to disregard” my understanding is that paresis is used when referring to God not seeing our sins, he will disregard them.

Therefore in a round about way we can say that in forgiving God wants us to send away the offense (pain, hurt etc), to release the people/thing we are hurting over and to extend to them grace. When I talk with Jonathan about church he often says to me “people within the church system really believe that they are doing what is right, their heart is to do what is right, and we have to extend grace to them because of that, not judge them and become bitter towards them. A lot of them don’t think like us, but they’re good people. We have to embrace the good things about church.” He is a very wise man.

I don’t know where you are at today, whether you are hurting or not, if you are then I pray that you will soon find peace. I think we should all try and extend a little Charizomai to others today.

4 Responses to “Forgiveness”

  1. cindy September 9, 2007 at 03:54 #

    sigh.

  2. Patti Blount September 9, 2007 at 15:16 #

    In referring to people still in the church system, I can’t say I have unforgiveness towards them. That’s not why we left. God led us out. I just feel sorry for them trapped in those buildings, thinking that “going there” is their service to God, and then, many of them still not knowing Him. I want them to experience the freedom of knowing and serving God everyday of their lives. I don’t know why He called us out. Is He calling others and they don’t hear?
    (I’m sorry-that is off the focus of your post. I’m just baffled, I guess.) Thank you for encouraging us to forgive. He is showing me to live in the light of forgiveness meaning going on with God knowing He has forgiven-not missing a beat. Once I have received that for myself, He wants, I feel us to do the same for others-kind of like we’ve already forgiven before they ask. To shed off the offense spontaneously.

  3. chill24 September 10, 2007 at 03:27 #

    oh so well said (written).

  4. lynhallewell September 10, 2007 at 17:42 #

    Thank you all for your comments. Someone said to me yesterday that you know you have forgiven when you can talk about something without it welling up emotions within you. Very true.

Leave a Reply

