Women!

12 Sep

I was over at Makeesha’s blog earlier and read her latest post which is about a response that has been written to a post Mak wrote a few weeks ago about a new course being offered to seminary students wives in order to prepare them for ministry. I’ve been pondering over the response to Mak’s post all afternoon, mainly thinking about calling and the role of women. One thing which disturbed me in the bloggers response to Mak’s post was that she said that pastors wives are called to be pastors wives. I have to really dispute this. I’ve never felt God “call” me to be a pastors wife. It’s not like he said to me one day “Lyn you’re going to be a pastors wife, so go off and find yourself a pastor to marry!” I believe that God brought Jonathan and I together and we have a joint calling to worship and serve God, as everyone does. I really struggle with this role and calling thing right now though. Sometimes we get so het up about what God wants us to do, that we forget to simply be with him, which is far more important.

Jonathan has just pointed out to me that there is no “job description” pastors wives. He used an example of the First Lady. Laura Bush kind of supports her husband and blends into the background, whereas Hillary Clinton was very active and is now running for Presidential candidacy herself. Pw’s are like that, some are really in your face, and others blend into the background – I fall into the latter!

Anyway, my post isn’t about pastors wives. It’s about women! As women how do you define your role in society and at home? Are you more of a home maker, or career orientated? Do you feel forced to fill a role you don’t feel you fit? Also would you say that God has a particular calling for you?

9 Responses to “Women!”

  1. Patti Blount September 12, 2007 at 21:00 #

    I am more domestic, although I used to doubt that I was significant because of the trend for women joining the work force.
    About the calling, yes, I have felt called and have struggled with that too. Whenever I read about Abraham, Jeremiah, or Paul in the Bible something inside of me automatically shifts to “no male or female in Christ.’ I just always assumed that followers of Christ and those “called-out ones,’ were just people or His disciples, without gender. Then when I “come to” from time to time, I question my feeling called. But then I believe it again, and know I am part of the “priesthood of all believers,” called to minister grace and truth to the world. Still I struggle because I am a woman and feel this way.

  2. Erin September 13, 2007 at 00:12 #

    Well, you know me. I’m a stay home mom, have been for 11+ years…wouldn’t have had it any other way unless God dictated it to me. But this is not to say that I have ever been a typical Christian wife…far from it. I tried “submission” and it only perplexed my husband…he didn’t WANT to be in charge…yes when there is a big decision to make, we make it together…but I make a lot of decisions on my own, I do a lot of things on my own.

  3. Cheryl September 13, 2007 at 16:37 #

    I believe there are some women who have felt called to be a pastor’s wife, but like your Jonathan alluded to, what exactly does that consist of. I think in the past the role of the pastor’s wife was more of a traditional, stay-at-home, domestic woman. Today, there are many “varieties” of pastor’s wives. Some are co-pastor’s, some are the traditional stay-at-home kind, and others have a career all on their own. Women have a variety of gifts and the church is waking up slowly, allowing the women to use their gifts in the way God desires them to use the gifts, not the church.

  4. lynhallewell September 13, 2007 at 19:16 #

    Good for you Patti. Indeed we are part of the priesthood of believers – the is the greatest calling of them all.

  5. lynhallewell September 13, 2007 at 19:17 #

    Erin, we work like this at home. We make most of the decisions together, but I too make a lot on my own.

  6. lynhallewell September 13, 2007 at 19:20 #

    Cheryl, the role of the pw has definitely changed – which is great. Although a big powerhouse pw can be quite intimidating too!

  7. Rhonda September 17, 2007 at 20:51 #

    I really like what you said,
    it being far more important to be with Him…

    My focus is on being and not doing so much.

  8. lynhallewell September 18, 2007 at 08:50 #

    Thank you Rhonda. How are you getting on with your being rather than doing? I find it quite hard at times.

  9. Jenni Gover October 3, 2007 at 15:34 #

    I struggle with home, work and social parts of my life and recently went through a ‘phase’ of trying to deal with my juggle of all of these. I felt quite low with myself and a real desire of wanting more but also of how would I fit more in!?

    I currently feel that I am in a job where I don’t fit but I do know that God has a calling for me and I pray every day for more revelation of this and try to make the best of my current situation.

Leave a Reply

