Moving on

26 Sep

I will start this post with an apology, because I’m bound to upset someone! You know I am not always the biggest fan of what Mark Driscoll has to say, but why is it everyone is having a good old Mark bash again?  He has been critical of fellow Christians, so now many Christians are being publicly critical of him.  Is this how Jesus would encourage us to handle things?  Now there is the “wink” thing going around as well.  It all seems really un-Christian and immature to me.  I do not condone or agree with what Mark has said about some of the emerging  church’s leaders, and I don’t think he should have publicly done this,  but maybe we should all just leave him and the people he spoke about to air their issues in private.

I have read about how people feel Mark is quiet about things, then he says stuff to get a reaction.  Why do people respond to this?  He’s got a reaction again.  If people didn’t respond and react to him, then he wouldn’t be in the lime light  – folks we’re putting him there (me included by writing this post).  I really don’t think we are here to point fingers amongst each other.  It is just the enemy’s way of causing disunity amongst Christians – and let’s face it there is enough of that!  Let’s leave this to one side now and get on with looking at the important issues in life which we should be tackling and inputting on.  Just my $0.02.

8 Responses to “Moving on”

  1. Jim September 26, 2007 at 23:58 #

    Amen, sister!

  2. Paul September 27, 2007 at 06:16 #

    I agree Lyn, I feel we need to think the best of each and other and be positive – Mark has helped a lot of people and is entitled to disagree – that doesn’t give us the right to be disagreeable.

    I thought Duncan’s piece here was a good one http://whatsyourpointcaller.wordpress.com/2007/09/25/round-3-the-podcast-and-the-book/

  3. Tyler September 27, 2007 at 13:15 #

    I think the wink thing is condescending myself, but whatever. It will only be a footnote in Church History textbooks come 200 years.

  4. Duncan McFadzean September 27, 2007 at 19:41 #

    Tyler, rebuke noted. Apologies will be made. I reacted in frustration and I shouldn’t have.

  5. Duncan McFadzean September 27, 2007 at 21:59 #

    But then again, I may just have totally misinterpreted Tyler’s point here. Sorry.

  6. lynhallewell September 27, 2007 at 22:48 #

    Thank you all for your comments – and apologies!

  7. Rhonda September 28, 2007 at 00:00 #

    I still haven’t read what Mr. Driscoll said.
    I decided after all the blog hub bub not to at all.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Oops I did it again « What’s your point caller? - September 27, 2007

    […] a comment by Michael Krahn sarcastically and that was uncalled for. This was called out by Tyler on Lynn’s blog, when Paul made a reference to my […]

Leave a Reply

