Ramblings

9 Oct

Some of you would have noticed that my blog has not been updated that regularly lately.  There are a number of reasons for this.  The main one being my dissertation, which was handed in a week ago – I’m still recovering from it and catching up with the housework!  Another reason is that I am processing what I want to achieve through blogging.  Finally I am processing the whole emergent movement, where I fit into it? How does blogging fit into it – given that there is a small target audience and bloggers compared to those involved in new ways of doing church.  I’m kind of thinking around the basics at the moment – being a godly woman, a good wife and a good mother.  Deep Church has an appeal – I’m not sure why or how that fits in with me yet.  My priorities right now are to God and my family.  I need to work on a more intimate relationship with God. I want to raise my children to learn the ways of God.  I want to be a supportive wife to my husband – and yes, this means being submissive to him – NOT in a doormat kind of way, but through the understanding that he is the head of our family, he makes decisions based on what he feels is right for our family, so I should support him in that and in his ministry.  My main ministry in this season is at home with the children, our joint ministry (a call we both feel we have) will flourish when God allows it.

I want to experience real Christian community.  I want to learn about other peoples stories – their past, what God is doing through them at the moment.  I want to read about peoples missional experiences and learn about their emergent expression.  I want real life.   I’m fed up of hearing rants about what is wrong with church. Instead of criticizing (myself included) let’s write about how things are changing, how we are changing them, let’s celebrate the new and keep the good parts of the old (I think this is where Deep Church comes in).

Just my thought process at the moment.

6 Responses to “Ramblings”

  1. Jenni Gover October 11, 2007 at 08:23 #

    Amen!

    Ephesians 4 (v29)
    Living as Children of Light
    17So I tell you this, and insist on it in the Lord, that you must no longer live as the Gentiles do, in the futility of their thinking. 18They are darkened in their understanding and separated from the life of God because of the ignorance that is in them due to the hardening of their hearts. 19Having lost all sensitivity, they have given themselves over to sensuality so as to indulge in every kind of impurity, with a continual lust for more.
    20You, however, did not come to know Christ that way. 21Surely you heard of him and were taught in him in accordance with the truth that is in Jesus. 22You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; 23to be made new in the attitude of your minds; 24and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.

    25Therefore each of you must put off falsehood and speak truthfully to his neighbor, for we are all members of one body. 26″In your anger do not sin”[d]: Do not let the sun go down while you are still angry, 27and do not give the devil a foothold. 28He who has been stealing must steal no longer, but must work, doing something useful with his own hands, that he may have something to share with those in need.

    29Do not let any unwholesome talk come out of your mouths, but only what is helpful for building others up according to their needs, that it may benefit those who listen. 30And do not grieve the Holy Spirit of God, with whom you were sealed for the day of redemption. 31Get rid of all bitterness, rage and anger, brawling and slander, along with every form of malice. 32Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

  2. Paul October 11, 2007 at 17:45 #

    Hi Lyn, great thoughts, you really really are inspiring 🙂

    Interesting you mention deep church, we’re (as in Jase and I) are about to try and articulate something about how and where we see deep church fitting in with the emerging conversation – mainly around values like being positive about church and appreciating all traditions for what they bring to the party…

    In other words deconstruction is good but when it slows down where do we go from here and offering deep church as one way to reconstruct.

    Now just got to get it written up and concreted!

  3. chill24 October 12, 2007 at 00:24 #

    love this post…it’s so easy to talk and whine about what’s wrong with church and life. thinking on the positive is something God even reminds us to do…”whatever is true, lovely…etc”
    thanks.
    this post is also encouraging for me to draw closer to God and refine my place and purpose. i’m glad you wrote what was on your heart 🙂

  4. lynhallewell October 13, 2007 at 21:04 #

    Thanks for the verses Jenni 🙂

  5. lynhallewell October 13, 2007 at 21:05 #

    Thanks Paul. I look forward to reading what Jason and you have to say.

  6. lynhallewell October 13, 2007 at 21:07 #

    Thanks Calana. It’ll be good to read about you refine your place and purpose sometime.

Leave a Reply

