Remebrance Sunday

11 Nov

When You Go Home, Tell Them Of Us And Say,
For Their Tomorrow, We Gave Our Today

One of the “side effects” of having a child on the autistic spectrum is their sleeping pattern. Ben needs melatonin to get him off to sleep at night, but this doesn’t keep him asleep, so he generally gets up tow or three times in the night. About once a week he wakes up very early is is basically up for the day. Today was one of those days, he and consequently Jonathan and I, have been up since 4.30am. Therefore we decided to have a day off church today – well Jonathan had to be there, but I stayed home with the kids.

We took the opportunity to watch the Remembrance service on television from the Cenotaph in London. We talked about our freedom and how it cost other people their lives so that we live in a free country today. It struck me that many of the veterans from World War Two are now in the eighties and older. As a child I remember my grandparents telling me about the war. We also had war veterans come into school and talk to us. My children’s grandparents were only babies or not even born during World War Two, so this heritage I received from my grandparents they will miss out on. During the past few weeks I have seen the same old gentleman sit at a table at the local grocery store selling poppies on behalf of the Royal British Legion. I have wondered what sights he must have seen all of those years ago. Many children and teenagers have walked passed him, almost ignoring that he was there. I wonder if they really understand the sacrifices that his generation made for us. They gave their lives. Will they ever understand the effects World Wars One and Two had on people, on the world? I hope that they never experience a war like that, I hope I never do. I worry though that the world will soon forget about why World War Two happened and the devastation it had, as the veterans are slowly passing away.

I also remember today the brave men and women who have served in the countless wars since WW2, and those currently serving in Afghanistan and Iraq. May God be with them and bring them home safely to their families.

In Flanders fields the poppies blow
Between the crosses, row on row,
That mark our place; and in the sky
The larks, still bravely singing, fly
Scarce heard amid the guns below.
We are the Dead. Short days ago
We lived, felt dawn, saw sunset glow,
Loved, and were loved, and now we lie
In Flanders fields.
Take up our quarrel with the foe:
To you from failing hands we throw
The torch; be yours to hold it high.
If ye break faith with us who die
We shall not sleep, though poppies grow
In Flanders fields.

(John McCrae)


Leave a Reply

