Buy me, I’ll change your life

27 Dec

We were browsing the web sales earlier, looking for a pair of warm slippers for Jonathan. This is what greeted us at Selfridge’s website

I think it was very tongue and cheek as the website was full of similar quotes “I shop therefore I am” “Want me, buy me, forget about me” “I can’t wait to buy everything Santa didn’t bring me” “I can’t wait to buy the shoes I need” However light and amusing it seems, it also struck me that the marketing machine is quite evil. In some ways it kind of sums up western society. And they wonder why so many are in debt these days. Even loan companies now advertize with the “Get the life you want … loans from 10,000 to 100,000” How must we look to the rest of the world, even to God?

2 Responses to “Buy me, I’ll change your life”

  1. Paul December 28, 2007 at 09:17 #

    it’s a lie, no slippers will ever change your life 😉

  2. lynhallewell December 28, 2007 at 10:28 #

    no .. they do a good job at keeping your feet warm though 😉

Leave a Reply

