Advent reflections

28 Dec

I really enjoyed putting together the daily advent Jesse tree devotion this year. I got a lot out of it, and I think my family did too. We had a special time together each evening after dinner, where we listened to the devotion and prayed together, waited on God etc. There were some days when I wondered why I decided to do them, as I sat in front of the computer for an hour or so trying to find something meaningful to write! I had the verses and symbols for each day, but the rest I put together … with the help of my bible commentary!

On a personal level it was great to see how Jesus’ genealogy and prophecies all fitted together. I also appreciated for the first time how many bible stories are interconnected with other ones throughout the bible. I think the most powerful message that came through for me was that throughout God was saying to his people “trust me” “I’m your protector and provider” “Lean on me” “Let me guide you”.

I’ve been considering carrying on with some form of devotion or meditation – maybe once a week initially – on my blog. I’d love to know what you thought about the Jesse tree devotions. Did they help you at all this Advent? Did you enjoy reading them and meet God within them? Would you like me to continue to put a devotion or meditation on my blog?

3 Responses to “Advent reflections”

  1. Jim December 28, 2007 at 13:15 #

    Take this for what it’s worth, but yours was the only daily devotional going on during Advent that I read, well, religiously.

    Hint: They weren’t overly long, and that’s a Good Thing. 🙂 Seriously, that’s one of the reasons I could spend the time to read and reflect on them.

  2. lynhallewell December 29, 2007 at 21:34 #

    Thank you Jim – your words are worth a lot.

  3. Deborah November 24, 2011 at 19:39 #

    Hi! To celebrate Advent, my husband and I make Jesse Tree Ornaments. Have a look: http://www.etsy.com/shop/acupofjoy

    Blessings,
    Deborah

Leave a Reply

