123 Meme

19 Feb

Sonja tagged me a few days ago now (I’m behind on google reader yet again!) with the 123 meme. Here are the rules:

1. Pick up the nearest book of 123 pages or more. No cheating! 2. Find page 123. 3. Find the first 5 sentences. 4. Post the next 3 sentences. 5. Tag 5 people.

OK, so I cheated! The book right in front of me was The Homeschoolers Book of Lists. It would bore most of you silly, especially as page 123 is a list of world currencies! I went to the bookcase instead and picked up the first book I laid eyes on.

This comes from Michael Frosts Exiles “…Travelling to Indonesia to help with the international relief effort after the tsunami is. Joining a church-planting team is. Standing with mothers in the middle of a busy intersection to protest the death of their sons is. Why do our churches often miss this experience of communitas? For no other reason that they often avoid liminality, opting for safer, more secure environment.”

Consider yourself tagged if you want to participate!

2 Responses to “123 Meme”

  1. Jeff February 20, 2008 at 01:32 #

    No point in my doing this particular meme, since it would be the same paragraph from the same page of the same book. 🙂 Just started reading “Exiles.” Love it so far.

  2. lynhallewell February 22, 2008 at 20:37 #

    Jeff, I have really enjoyed Exiles. I’ve got a lot out of it and have found myself saying constantly “Why hasn’t anyone said this before” etc. It’s taken me a while to get through the book though. I don’t know if you know, but Michael Frost quite often has teaching on You Tube which is quite thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

