Birthday Rainbow

9 Mar

Our family is kind of weird as our children have birthdays right by each other and so do Jonathan and I, so his was yesterday , today is my turn. I rack up another year today and have reached the grand age of 33.

I think God caught my attention a few hours ago – maybe he sent me a birthday gift. Two years ago on my birthday God told me he was going to send me a rainbow to remind me of his promise to us (Jonathan and I). At that stage our Canada application had been in just four months and was already seeming like an age! A month before whilst praying about Canada we were given words from Jeremiah “… I’m going to plant you in this land”. We took that to be a promise from God. So on my birthday two years ago God did send me a rainbow, in fact in the course of that day we saw two at different times.

Roll on two years to today. It’s been really beautiful here today (not warm, but sunny). One thing I love about my birthday is that it signals an end to winter and the beginning of Spring. A couple of hours ago it got quite dark and there was a hail storm, then it continued to rain but the sun came out. I wasn’t really taking much notice, but suddenly inside something told me to go and find the rainbow. Sure enough there was a huge rainbow stretched over our back garden. Jonathan then reminded me of the rainbow a few years ago. Why do I think this might be a gift from God? Well, our visa is slowly being processed now for Canada, but we have the human concerns of “Will we be able to afford a house?” “Will Jonathan’s graphic design business take off and provide an income?” and so on. I think the rainbow today was God reminding us again that he is going to plant us in the land. He is in control and we should not worry.

3 Responses to “Birthday Rainbow”

  1. Erin March 9, 2008 at 17:03 #

    That’s beautiful, Lyn. Happy Birthday. He does keep His promises, you know.

  2. Heidi March 10, 2008 at 16:16 #

    Just hafta smile over this! 🙂

  3. chill24 March 13, 2008 at 00:48 #

    happy birthday…cool about the rainbow.

Leave a Reply

