Your Turn: May Synchroblog

5 May

Glenn Hager has organized a synchroblog for today. He is asking bloggers to share a little bit of the latest chapter of their life by answering these questions:

  • How are you doing?
  • What are you doing?
  • What are you learning?
  • What are you dreaming about?

Feel free to join in if you want to, just link your blog post back to Glenn’s blog.

If I’m honest many times over the past month or so if I had written this post, you would have ended up with various responses depending on the day etc; as it has been a very up and down time for me. Today though, and for the past few weeks, I have to say that I’m doing good, I’m doing really good. In my life things are beginning to click into place and I feel like I’m coming to the top of what has been a very big and long mountain climb.

Today I’m packing for our trip to Canada, I’m excited because I’m going to see our new home and meet people in my new community. I’m also a little apprehensive because I don’t particularly relish flying ….. OK, I hate it! Other than that I continue to do my “normal” things within life. I spend the bulk of my time home educating our two children. I’m also trying to encourage others to think about and partake in new forms of church. The latter I fail at miserably most of the time.

I’m learning that I can’t change either the world or the church on my own. It’s hard being part of a church community where most really are happy with how things are and do not see the need or want to do things differently. God has put us here, and it’s a hard place to be sometimes. However, as we move on, maybe we have left even a mustard seed with some, which will flourish and grow in the future, when God’s timing is right for this place. I’m continually learning to surrender to God and allowing him to work. I’m amazed at what he does, how things fall into place at just the right time. I’m really learning to trust on him more for my needs. Sometimes fear gets in the way. In my personal situation I panic and think “what if we don’t get the permanent residency for Canada?” When I feel like this I’m learning to remember that He is God and I am not. He has put Canada on our hearts time and time again, we have received so many words and pictures – personally and from individuals. We must claim these. Dawn is coming.

I’m dreaming about the future. I really believe that soon I’m going to reach the summit of the mountain and I’m going to see the valley on the other side, I’m going to see what God has for us there, and I’m so excited about that. That doesn’t mean life will get easy, there will be new challenges and adventures ahead, but this time I’m looking forward to them. I continue to dream about what God’s church can become, who she is meant to be. It constantly excites me as I see more and more believers rising up and saying “Is it meant to be like this?” Something is happening in our lifetime that I believe could see Christians return to the original mandate in the New Testament. I continue to dream outside of my life and look at others. I’d love to see the world change for the better in my lifetime. I want to see an end to poverty. I want it not to be a lottery where you are born, as to how your life may pan out. Really on my heart at the moment is Zimbabwe. Over the next few months I really want to dream with the people who live there, who are praying and hoping for a change in leadership and thus a change to their country and how they live – will you join me in that dream?

11 Responses to “Your Turn: May Synchroblog”

  1. Erin May 5, 2008 at 15:49 #

    You guys have a safe and fun trip!

    I think the summit of the mountain is a good analogy…when we are on the way up, all we can see is what’s right in front of us…and sometimes it’s good to be able to get the lay of the land and see where we’re headed in the big picture. I like that. Not that I’m there, but wish I was.

  2. glenn May 5, 2008 at 15:59 #

    Lyn ~ It good to be an incurable dreamer when it comes to the church and the kingdom!

  3. Jeromy May 5, 2008 at 19:49 #

    “I’m continually learning to surrender to God and allowing him to work. I’m amazed at what he does, how things fall into place at just the right time.”

    Amazing indeed to see it happen. Amzing how it really seems to be about trust and love. Have a great time in Canada.

  4. Jeff McQ May 5, 2008 at 20:10 #

    Thanks, Lyn, for sharing your story, and for your continued enlightening thoughts here.

    Hope your trip to Canada goes well. (If you make it as far south as Oklahoma, let me know. 🙂 )

  5. kathyescobar May 5, 2008 at 22:51 #

    lyn, thanks for sharing..you said it’s “hard being part of a church community where most really are happy with how things are and do not see the need or want to do things differently.” that is always a hard place to be, when you look around and others are satisfied & you believe it could be so much more. blessings to you on your journey & may your passion for zimbabwe continue to be fanned into flame…

  6. Mike May 6, 2008 at 00:58 #

    Lyn ~ Enjoy your trip to Canada. I know many Canadians who would say that you are making a wise choice….eh! 😀 Thanks for sharing some of your journey as well. It is always refreshing to see first hand that I’m not alone in the ways that I feel.

  7. Jane May 6, 2008 at 13:15 #

    “If I’m honest many times over the past month or so if I had written this post, you would have ended up with various responses depending on the day etc; as it has been a very up and down time for me.”

    I can so relate to this. There are days when I feel so close to God; so glad to be free from the church that I was in and I know for sure that it was the right thing to do.

    There are other days where I miss everything about the church and I worry if I am double minded or decieved.

    Mostly I know that leaving was right for me- but I can relate to the rollercoaster ride of emotions and thoughts since I left.

    I don’t think that you are failing at getting others to partake in new forms of church.

    You can only do what you can do- speak truth to people in love and educate them about what you have come to know. You can control their thoughts or choices- even God gave man free will-

    So you are doing exactly what you are supposed to do, in my opinion.

    I think what you are up against is a mindset….and a system that is so entrenched in what they are doing- it has its clutches in every area of peoples lives.

    We felt we were called to leave our church about 2 years before we actually left it. We ignored the “still small voice of God” to leave, clinging to the familiar, the things that felt good, the friendships and connectedness, the feeling good when doing good ministries and so forth.

    God was so loving that he allowed for us to experience some really whacked out things over the next year- emotional abuse, verbal abuse and incredible pain that had nothing to do with His love. I think he removed some sort of covering over us to see what was really going on-

    when it became more painful to stay than it would be to leave….

    we began the exiting process. It took another year of meeting with leadership for release- and when they couldn’t do it (we were in a hotel california like church; you could sign up but you could never leave)…the abuse became so clear, obvious and horrific that leaving became a necessity for us to the level of needing air to breath.

    I guess I am saying all this to say; trust God in the equation of what you are doing. If He is calling people out- He will. I have found that He is faithful even when I have seen those who call themselves by His name to be anything but faithful.

    Have an awesome trip in Canada.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. May Synchroblog « To Be A Fool… - May 5, 2008

    […] Lyn at beyond the four walls: Your Turn: May Synchroblog […]

  2. Feeling Free « re-dreaming the dream - May 5, 2008

    […] Lyn Hallewell: Your Turn […]

  3. Lost or Found (Depends on your view): May Synchroblog « Simply A Night Owl - May 6, 2008

    […] – Chapter 10 Kathy Escobar:  It Stinks Down Here, but I Really Love The Smell Lyn Hallewell:  Your Turn Sarah:   Glenn’s May Synchroblog Tera Rose:  May Synchroblog Possibly related posts: […]

  4. Life after the Gravitron « Just a Broken Pilgrim - May 6, 2008

    […] Lyn Hallewell: Your Turn […]

Leave a Reply

