God’s will

30 May

Is EVERYTHING that happens in the world God’s will? I kind of struggle with that one.

6 Responses to “God’s will”

  1. Jamie Arpin-Ricci May 31, 2008 at 13:37 #

    I’m not theologian, so many might quickly undermine this as inadequate, but I have come believe that, while everything that happens in not God’s will, everything is within His will. By this I mean that, because His grace and long-suffering have kept us from immediate judgment, everything possesses hope, that potential for redemption, therefore is infused with the possibility of His will being done. Does that even make any sense?

    Peace,
    Jamie

  2. traveller May 31, 2008 at 18:20 #

    No, I do not believe everything that happens is within God’s will in the sense that he wishes for it to happen. Much that happens now is the result of the brokenness of this world due to the entry of sin. Sin not only created a separation of humans and God but it also broke all of creation.

    But God is already at work redeeming his creation…it is just not yet complete. When it is his will shall be pervasive throughout all creation.

  3. Jamie Arpin-Ricci June 1, 2008 at 15:49 #

    I hope I was clear that “within God’s will” was very different than “being God’s will”. Since traveller used my phrase, it seems that was missed. Oh well…

  4. Lyn June 1, 2008 at 19:52 #

    That’s how I feel Barbara.

  5. Lyn June 1, 2008 at 20:14 #

    I think this is where I’m at. I think that things which happen in the world are a result of mankind’s sin – due to this we have choice and choice leads to consequences etc.

    It’s always good to remember that God is at work in redeeming creation and more importantly that he is in control.

  6. lynhallewell June 1, 2008 at 20:16 #

    All clear here!

Leave a Reply

