The Cynic Within Me

19 Jun

It seems a little strange writing this post after my review of Post-Charismatic yesterday, but it’s been stirring within me and I have to write it down! I must admit the for the past two or three months I have largely ignored the Florida revival, that is until things happened at our own doorstep a few weeks back. A church nearby has had people go to Florida and they are now holding weekly Saturday meetings to spread the revival among the UK. There have been reported healings, gold dust, oil etc.

I am all for the Holy Spirit moving and working in peoples lives. I want to see and experience more of the Holy Spirit in my life. Why do I feel so cynical about Florida? I’m struggling with this at the moment. Christians I know have been saying “hey, has the Florida revival come to your church yet?” “are you going to …. church to experience God?” No, actually, I’m not. I know some will be disappointed to my views on this whole “revival” and to be honest I sometimes question how “Christian” I actually am these days. I love God with my whole heart and I want to serve him, but I’m really not so sure about what is happening right now. Why is it these “revivals” only happen in the rich west? Why is it everyone has to go to Florida to “experience” it? (Obviously rules the poor out!) Why do they always seem to include a man at the front promising you a big house, car etc if you part with your cash to “support his ministry in order to help God increase his kingdom” Like God needs this mans help – hello!

However, I sometimes fear that I am treading on dangerous ground with my thought process. I don’t want to slate what God is doing. I don’t want to doubt him. Is part of this skepticism I’m feeling part of discerning what is of God and what is not? I’ve appreciated reading other posts by fellow bloggers and I realise that I’m not wholly alone in my thought process.

A comment on Jason Clark’s blog highlighted Acts 5:38-39 “Therefore, in the present case I advise you: Leave these men alone! Let them go! For if their purpose or activity is of human origin, it will fail. But if it is from God, you will not be able to stop these men; you will only find yourselves fighting against God.”

I can’t stress enough at how much I think people should read Post-Charismatic.

Lord forgive me if my thoughts are wrong, right now though, I’m not going along with everyone else in the hype. How about you? (apologies if this post has been a little garbled in places – I have a head cold)

3 Responses to “The Cynic Within Me”

  1. lynhallewell June 20, 2008 at 19:32 #

    Thanks Cindy, it’s good to know others feel the same – even if we are cynics!

    Personal revival – I like that term!

  2. lynhallewell June 20, 2008 at 19:37 #

    Hi Judy!

    Thanks for sharing. Seeking God is certainly what he wants.

    It’s interesting that you refer it as the clique serving the clique. My husband wonders whether it’s people out for the next “spiritual experience/thrill”

  3. lynhallewell June 26, 2008 at 18:12 #

    Hi John,

    Thanks for your comment. I am aware of the revivals in Africa, China etc. In fact we support a ministry in India which has seen revival and people raised from the dead. What I about the west is because it is suddenly happening here everyone has to go to Florida, including the media! However I’ve never heard anyone at church, for example, saying “we must all try and get to Africa for the revival.” but suddenly “we’ve all got to get to Florida”.

    In terms of offering I wasn’t only referring to Florida – I didn’t name any one person, however from what I have seen on God TV the money side is pushed a little. One night money was being made for a crusade in Sudan/Uganda, which is great, however it was made clear that it would cost $100,000 a day just for Todd Bently to be there, that was without the food and other items needed.

    I agree with you about the revival. If God is doing something among his people that is fantastic. If people are being healed, raised from the dead, coming to Christ, wonderful, bring it on God. However, I really believe that if we really opened our hearts and surrendered to God that we would see a lot more of “Florida” in our day to day lives. God is no more present in Florida than he is with me in this room at the moment.

Leave a comment