Why blog?

24 Jun

I’ve been wondering why I blog lately. I’m pondering about just closing my blog down. I’m not sure about where the “conversation” is going these days. When I began blogging a few years ago I got a lot out of the great discussion that took place in blogosphere. I have made some good friends whom I really value. I have learned a lot and have felt stretched in my thinking. However these days, and please forgive me if I’m wrong, but the “conversation” has gotten a little dry and same old same old. I feel like an “in club” has been formed. If you are not part of that inner circle then you are basically out.

Maybe it’s just me. Apologies if I’ve offended anyone. Maybe it’s just time for me to escape cyberworld and return to the real world. Maybe I just have PMS! Maybe, maybe …

4 Responses to “Why blog?”

  1. Jenni Gover June 25, 2008 at 08:39 #

    Hi Lyn,

    Hope you are feeling and well and am praying for you and your family.

    Not too sure what to say really. I don’t read your blogs all the time but when I do I find them interesting and sometimes they get me thinking.

    Although in terms of ‘conversation’ blogging doesn’t really do it for me as it’s not overly a two way thing. You write something, we can respond but its not the same as talking.

    I find often with texts things can be read in the wrong way so sometimes it can be quite difficult.

    Blogging can be a good way of expressing how you feel at any point in life, or prayer requests etc.

    If you still continue blogging then I agree with what Jim said – blog for yourself (and maybe for idiots like me who are still learning! lol)

  2. Jamie Arpin-Ricci June 25, 2008 at 15:33 #

    I think the conversation is changing. The boom is past, but the relationships remain. It is now time for us to imagine the next step in the journey. Frankly, I’m really happy to have 5 or 10 good online friends to read and interact with.

    I wonder if the next step is for these blogs to be forums for change. That is, we’ve talked a lot about the idea, let’s now support each other in some doing. Will it mean less frequent posting? Maybe, but I think it is worth it.

    Peace,
    Jamie

  3. lynhallewell June 26, 2008 at 18:14 #

    Hi everyone,

    Thank you so much for your wonderful support. I’m having a few days away and I will reply to your comments in more depth.

    lots of love,
    Lyn

  4. sonja June 27, 2008 at 15:24 #

    Lyn … I’ve been really thinking about this post the last few days. It’s been weighing on me.

    I wonder if there is a life cycle to blogging. I think we all go through this period. Then, we have to decide who we’re writing for … is it so that we’ll fit in? Or is it for ourselves? Or for some other reason entirely? There are many reasons for blogging, but I think that writing to be part of a group may not be a healthy reason.

    So, take some time to reflect on why you blog and what you want to say. My (selfish) prayer is that you will continue. I value what you have to say and enjoy reading you and your perspective. But if you need to back away, I will hope to remain in contact with you by other means.

    This dis-satisfaction you are sensing may be a call that God has put on you to further hone your message. Or it may be that He is calling you elsewhere. Or it may just be a sense of unsettledness about your potential move that is leaking into other things. Regardless, you are loved.

Leave a Reply

