All ordered

17 Aug

I’ve spent the past few days making my final choices for our home ed. curriculum this year. We are now waiting for what is affectionately known as “Box Day” within the homeschooling community. I don’t know about the kids, but I can’t wait 🙂

We are still following Charlotte Mason’s philosophy of education. We are trying out Sonlight this year using their Core 2 which takes us from where we nicely left off at the end of last school year – the fall of the Rome through to present day. We will only use Sonlight for history and geography plus readers. In science this year we will be using Apologia’s Zoology 2 which focuses on water habitats. For language arts we will continue with copywork, Karen Andreola’s Simply Grammar, narration and dictation, Explode the Code and Sequential Spelling. We will also have lots of nature study, art and will be learning the recorder together (cover your ears!)

I’m still thinking about adding a second language but the courses available are so expensive. I have English from the Roots Up (Latin and Greek root words and their English derivatives) that I may introduce later in the year – mmm, we’ll see.

4 Responses to “All ordered”

  1. sonja August 17, 2008 at 12:41 #

    Whoo hoo … I’m about to place my order, Lyn. Isn’t “Box Day” the best?

    You’re using a lot of the same kinds of curricula that I use. I did go through English From The Roots Up with my kids. When you’re finished with that, you might want to continue with a program called “Minimus.” It’s a very playful, but thorough introduction to Latin written for British students. Here’s the link to the website ( http://www.minimus-etc.co.uk/ ) . Wow … I just went to the site and the author has really been beefing it up. I did both years of it with my kids and they got quite a bit out of it.

  2. lynhallewell August 17, 2008 at 12:45 #

    It certainly is – the question is who will get to the stuff first!

    Thanks for the link I’ll go check it out.

  3. lynhallewell August 18, 2008 at 21:55 #

    Thanks!

  4. lynhallewell August 18, 2008 at 21:55 #

    🙂

Leave a Reply

