All hyped up things come to an end

18 Aug

All around me people have been raving about the Lakeland revival. As I wrote before I have been very wary of what was going on there. Now it seems all is beginning to crumble. I think this whole situation is a real shame. It’s an awful advertisement for Christianity, for God. There have obviously been lots of lies as Brother Maynard and Grace have highlighted. No doubt the “apostles” will all jump ship and quickly remove themselves from the situation. I doubt we’ll read many apologies. I feel for Todd Bently, yes he’s lied, but he has obviously been abused and manipulated by the media circus and thrust into the limelight. I feel very sad for his wife and children. Jeff and Barb have written some thoughtful pieces. I won’t say I told you so because Jared’s already done that.

Folks, if you want a revival, if you want to meet with God, then don’t look to other people. He is with you in all you are doing all the time. You just need to want him enough and take the time to press in and find him. His Kingdom is all around us, seek him and you will find it. Showmanship will never get you anywhere. Jesus could have been the greatest showman of all time – think about why he chose not to be? In the words of Forest Gump “That’s all I have to say about that.”

2 Responses to “All hyped up things come to an end”

  1. lynhallewell August 20, 2008 at 07:16 #

    You’re right that can never be a bad thing. However, sadly I’m not sure how many will learn from this. I’m sure the next thing will happen in a few months that everyone will be raving about and all of this will be forgotten. As I’ve said before, maybe I’m just too cynical.

  2. Paul August 22, 2008 at 12:35 #

    lol, i’ve always wondered how I ended up such a super cynic in the supernatural and now its all coming back to me.

    Not cos of strange revival antics jus cos we’re always so pissy with each other when it all goes south, the spirit and the love all seem to jus melt away into a “i told you so” sess combined with a lot of dohs! and forhead slapping 🙂

    Strikes me that there has been a lot of hype and hoola on all sides and now that nice big juicy stories are coming out the don’t be stupid this is all hype brigade will have their day in the sun.

    Sadly it seems that the foot shooting party will continue for spome time 😦

Leave a Reply

