5th September 1998

5 Sep

This is us on our wedding day ten years ago today, back in the days when you used film to take a photo and had to send it off to get developed! It’s scanned in, hence the poor quality. K, so we’ve aged a little now! This is us today

I am so blessed to be married to Jonathan he is my best friend, my soul mate. You couldn’t find a nicer guy. He’d do anything for you. He is very honorable and gentle. If he makes a promise he keeps it, whatever. He treats me like a queen. He never expects anything. He respects me. He loves me. He has opened my mind and stretched my thinking so much over the years and has helped me to grow without hedging me in. He pushes me far past my comfort zone, which at the time makes me extremely uncomfortable – I am an INFP after all, whereas he is an extrovert, once through the uncomfortableness though, I am thankful for the nudge!

For us, our tenth anniversary is a very special occasion. We didn’t have the best start to our marriage. We spent most of our honeymoon with food poisoning, and then we found out we were expecting a honeymoon baby. I fell into depression. We nearly divorced. I’m so glad that God got through to us both and that we were reconciled. We’ve been through some really tough times since then, but we have gone through united clinging to each other and God rather than divided as we first were. We always said that on our 10th anniversary we’d have a second honeymoon.

We are off to London today for a weekend away. K, so London is hardly Paris or Rome, but we have a son with Aspergers who needs to know that we are not too far away. So, the kids are staying in North London with my mum, so we are only a tube ride away if needed. We are making the most of our time minus kids. We are staying at the Hilton in Mayfair, by Buckingham Palace and Hyde Park. Tonight Jonathan is taking me to Jamie Oliver’s Fifteen restaurant for dinner. We also plan on visiting the Tate Modern, Greenwich, Covent Garden and just pottering around shops, coffee houses and eateries! Later on today he is taking me to Loop in Islington to get me some nice yarn to knit myself a few bits with. Told you, he’s a nice guy.

I love you babe, Happy Anniversary.

2 Responses to “5th September 1998”

  1. Heidi September 5, 2008 at 13:15 #

    Yay for you guys!! Yay for loving husbands! Happy Anniversary!

    Gosh, a weekend away, Jon and I have yet to do that, but some day. Going to London sounds fine to us Canadians over here.

    Maybe on your next anniversary you guys can get away to Old Quebec City. 🙂

  2. Erin September 5, 2008 at 13:59 #

    Congratulations! Have a great weekend away.

Leave a Reply

