Fall Favorites

22 Sep

Sue was writing a few days ago about five things that she loves about spring. Being an Australian she is thrilled that they are now out of winter and into spring. I wish I was so thrilled about being out of summer and into fall! Those of you who have read my blog for a while will know that this isn’t my favorite time of the year. I really don’t relish the late dark mornings and early dark evenings as well as a number of other things!

I’ve decided to be positive though and to think about the things that I do love about this time of the year, so here are my five.

1) I do love the changing colors of the leaves, they look so beautiful with all their oranges, yellows and reds.

2) I enjoy going crunching through the woods to hunt for acorns and conkers (chestnuts to you in N.America!)

3) I like being able to curl up on the sofa or in bed, with a blanket and book or knitting, and some hot chocolate to drink just because it feels a little chilly.

4)  …… help me out I’m struggling now! …… k, got one, this time of the year there can be some amazing sunsets as the sun is a wee bit lower in the sky and just seems more majestic etc.

5) PUMPKIN! I love pumpkin pie and pumpkin soup. In the UK we only see pumpkins in the grocery stores between late September and early November. I can’t quite work out if this is because of Halloween so people can carve them, or if it’s the only time when they are available; and unlike squashes, they don’t maintain a year round supply? Anway, I’ve never discovered pumpkin sold in cans here like in N.America, so I can only make pumpkin pie and have pumpkin soup in the fall.

So, what are your favorite things about fall – or indeed spring, if you happen to live in the southern hemisphere?

2 Responses to “Fall Favorites”

  1. Sue September 25, 2008 at 10:05 #

    Awww, my heart goes out to you, Lyn 🙂 It really does. I understand the fear and trepidation of going into the dark 😦 Boo! Boo!

    It’s not the lack of heat I hate about winter it’s definitely the lack of light. Like you said, the dark moving in so quickly. One of the things I am looking forward to when daylight savings hits in a couple of weeks is to be able to walk my dog after work again.

    Hang in, Lyn. Before we know it our roles will be reversed again. And while I feel sad for all the people in the Northern Hemisphere who are heading with dread into Winter, I promise I shall go barefoot as much as possible in your honour 🙂

  2. lynhallewell September 26, 2008 at 18:58 #

    Thanks Sue! I really don’t begrudge you guys going into spring. I know how nice it is to come out of a long winter (maybe more of a relief!). I sometimes think that I should spent winter in a warmer climate! Do plenty of barefoot walking for me!

Leave a Reply

