Yes we can!

5 Nov

pictures from the BBC

Congratualtions Barack and Michelle Obama!

Wow! I’ve had four hours sleep and am just a wee bit tired now, but I wouldn’t have missed watching the US presidential election. It is a defining moment in time. The euphoria of the people – gosh I wanted to go to Chicago and be there! People chanting “Obama” outside the White House was incredible to see. Last night was a historical night, it will go down in the book of “what was you doing when … ” As I reflected this morning, it made me think of the 1997 election in the UK when Blair and Labour came to power and absolutely trounced the Conservatives. Back in ’97 I was 22 and a first time voter. I had grown up under Thatcher being in power and we needed change desperately. There was a real buzz in the UK during the ’97 election race and you knew that something big was about to happen. Many young voters, like myself, made sure they got their voices heard. This is clearly what has happened in the US.

I think Obama will be a good president and I have really warmed to his wife, Michelle. I think she will be an excellent First Lady. Change doesn’t happen over night though, Obama won’t transform the US in his first year of office, it will take time. It was really emotional listening to his speech last night and watching the crying faces of many Americans – from all ethnic backgrounds. Even commentators were trying to hold it together whilst presenting. Change can happen. Change can be good.

2 Responses to “Yes we can!”

  1. Erin November 5, 2008 at 16:19 #

    Yay! Thanks for staying up late to celebrate with us. Now go take a nap!

  2. lynhallewell November 6, 2008 at 12:47 #

    I slept like a baby last night!

Leave a Reply

