Consoling myself

21 Nov

I’m miserable this evening! I’m sitting here drinking a glass of wine and attempting to console myself! CIC in London announced today that they have run out of visas for the year. Now we won’t here anything until January. I am so fed up with the whole thing to the point that I’m wondering if it’s even worth it now. I’ve given up trying to work out when we will get our visa, if we will get it, and when we will move. There has been so much from God about this move, however, I’m questioning now why God hasn’t moved in on this and made it happen quicker? Why have we faced so many hurdles? Why has everything that could go wrong gone wrong? Maybe it’s just his timing and we won’t understand until we move. I’m totally out of energy on this one now.

On a side note if anyone knows of a good web host let me know. We are with Blue Host and they are not very good IMO!

There ends my moan!

13 Responses to “Consoling myself”

  1. Jim November 21, 2008 at 22:50 #

    I am so sorry! Here’s to hoping and praying your family gets the first visas issued in the new year!

  2. Erin November 22, 2008 at 02:30 #

    Oh dagnabit, Lyn! I’m seeing red for you. Peace to you and Jonathan, as much as possible. Hopefully one day you will know why all the delays were a part of this process.

  3. sonja November 22, 2008 at 12:32 #

    Do they know what they’re missing? No, they do not know what gold awaits them.

    The wheels of government are so slow and painful. We never know in the moment what the reasoning is for God’s timing. It’s only when we look back down the road that we can understand the whys and wherefores. Don’t burden yourself with that question now, dear one. Just live with what God has for you today. It’s difficult, I know, but His love is enough. And eventually, it will all be clear.

  4. Heid November 22, 2008 at 13:37 #

    Oh Lyn, I’m so sorry. I’m praying for you.

  5. lynhallewell November 22, 2008 at 19:26 #

    Thank you everyone. I’m in a bit of a hole today, but I’m trying to pull myself back out of it. I guess at least I have Christmas to focus on for the next month!

  6. cindy November 24, 2008 at 03:03 #

    i just got here, Lyn. I don’t have any words. I hope and pray that the Christmas season will have unforeseen warmth and joy for you this year.

  7. Jenni Gover November 24, 2008 at 09:42 #

    Aww Lyn 😦 I read a Word for Today recently and it seems relevant. I don’t know if you read it at times but here it is and I hope it helps somewhat:

    Prepared, planted, placed, pruned, prospered (2) 03 Nov 2008
    ‘…God planted a garden…there He put the man whom He had formed.’ Genesis 2:8
    What does it mean to plant? To bury seeds beyond human view so that they germinate and eventually produce fruit. In God’s plan for your life, He’s planted blessings you experience over time. Just because you walk out into a field and don’t see a crop, doesn’t mean the seeds aren’t there; God has planted things in your life that will come to fruition at different times. It’s amazing that God would plant. Why would He go to such trouble when He could just speak a word and create it? Think of the love, the personal involvement of the Creator of the universe, as He stoops down and plants blessings to come up at different seasons in your life. Everything God has for you hasn’t come up yet, so you can’t give up, or walk away and say, ‘That’s all there is.’ No, God’s got some stuff planted that you haven’t seen or experienced. You’re still becoming what He planted. Knowing that reinforces your faith that it will happen. It also means God believes in you; even when you don’t believe in yourself. There are talents in you that haven’t been discovered and dreams that haven’t been fulfilled. That’s what the battle is about! The devil is fighting you over your destiny. He knows what’s been planted in you and he’s trying to kill the seed. Don’t let him. You’re not the person you’ll be six months or six years from now, because there’s a time factor; everything doesn’t come to harvest at the same time. You have to have faith and patience, otherwise you’ll miss what God has for you.

    http://www.ucb.co.uk/index.cfm?itemid=88&testdate=03%20Nov%202008

    Keeping you all in our prayers
    -x-

  8. Heidi November 24, 2008 at 13:17 #

    It’s hard to trust in these times of confusion. Try not to figure it out, as hard as that is. God’s ways are a mystery, but He’s always working in our favour, though many times it feels like he’s working against us…and that is often the case. He WILL get you to the other side of this. Things WILL be okay!

    Still praying,
    ((((((hugs))))))
    Heidi

  9. Jamie Arpin-Ricci November 24, 2008 at 14:12 #

    All I can say is that we understand the frustrations and unfairness of Canadian immigration. Praying big time and here for any other help we can offer. Even if only to vent!

    Peace,
    Jamie

  10. lynhallewell November 24, 2008 at 16:22 #

    Thanks Cindy

  11. lynhallewell November 24, 2008 at 16:23 #

    Thanks Jenni

  12. lynhallewell November 24, 2008 at 16:31 #

    It certainly is a mystery! I’m feeling more upbeat today – miserable that we’ve missed the first snow. I’m watching the ice skating on the web cam again!

  13. lynhallewell November 24, 2008 at 16:33 #

    Thank you SO much Jamie. Every time you get over one hurdle another seems to hit you in the face again. It is a long road but hopefully we are near the end now.

Leave a Reply

