Advent

2 Dec

I’m trying out Why We Are Waiting this year for Advent. Each day there is a short devotional (not necessarily including a bible reading). The past few days have been thought provoking. What are you using for Advent this year – if anything at all? What does Advent mean to you? And what do you hope to get out of Advent this year?

4 Responses to “Advent”

  1. cindy December 3, 2008 at 13:20 #

    thanks for the link Lyn. I like it. I’ve been very remiss this year- no advent readings at all yet! I don’t know what happened… I’m having trouble even trying to look for the real meaning. I think I’m feeling less irritated by the commercial holiday, but more bitter about the whole holiday. It’s a quiet bitterness–which is probably more dangerous than the kind that comes out fighting. it’s been kind of a terrible year- I think I’m just looking forward to a new year and (please God) a new beginning. But I need advent- so thanks for the link.

  2. lynhallewell December 3, 2008 at 13:50 #

    Like you I can’t wait to put this year behind me – it’s not been the best! I will remember it for – guess what – patience, disappointment and endless waiting!

    I’m trying not to be as vocal by my irritation this year – just quietly doing things that I hope make a difference. We’ve gone for fairtrade gifts for family and we are all having one less present this year and are giving the money to either a World Vision alternative gift or to Advent Conspiracy. I am still tempted to celebrate Christmas when the orthodox church do though (Jan 6) and ignore the hullabaloo!

    Anyways, I will fill my wine glass up and raise a toast with you to new beginnings in 2009.

  3. Jim December 9, 2008 at 03:13 #

    Totally not related, but I still don’t have your email (mine is jim DOT lehmer @ “gee-mail” DOT com).

    http://paulwilkinson.wordpress.com/2008/12/08/dave-walkers-12-days-of-christmas-in-a-modern-uk-church/

    “He said ‘verger’! Hee hee hee!” Sorry – thought Jonathan would get a kick, although you probably already know about Dave Walker.

  4. lynhallewell December 9, 2008 at 08:13 #

    Very funny! I’m gmail too – just add lynhallewell!!

Leave a Reply

