Giftmas

20 Dec

I’m really finding Christmas difficult this year. We’ve put our tree up later than ever before and even with under a week to go left, I’m still not getting that excitement that I usually have. I know some of this is because we really didn’t expect to be here for Christmas this year. Some of that unexpectedness is a blessing as we get to spend another Christmas with our wider family. The other thing is that I’m really struggling to find Jesus in Christmas this year. Again, some of this is my own fault, I need to spend time with him and reflect on him. Wider though, I look around the stores, I see things on television, the internet etc. and I think, “A lot of people out there don’t really give a monkeys about why we have Christmas.”

My children were watching The Emperor’s New School earlier this week. The episode was about Christmas, but they called if Giftmas. That to me seems like such a more apt word for Christmas in this day and age. Another thing the kids have been doing this week is learning about how Christmas is celebrated in other countries. We have been really surprised to learn that quite a few celebrate December 25th as Jesus being born and then children receive gifts on January 6th which is basically the feast of the three wise men (they brought gifts to Jesus). Some how this makes much more sense to me. There again, maybe I’m just being bah humbug this year – I’m in good company though!

4 Responses to “Giftmas”

  1. Heidi December 20, 2008 at 15:56 #

    I know what you mean Lyn, Jon and I were just talking about this last night. I’m not in the Christmas mood either, but it’s actually because I’m quite happy and content and am too busy enjoy every single day instead of building up hype for the 25th.

    Hopefully the upcoming year will be a delightful one for you! 🙂

  2. Erin December 20, 2008 at 21:49 #

    I wish it was easier to keep children from embracing the “giftmas”. It’s like they hold on with both hands and there’s no way to unravel it.

  3. Lyn December 21, 2008 at 08:33 #

    Thanks Heidi.

    Erin – the gifts are certainly what the kids embrace. We’ve come a long way in the past hundred years, when back then a gift was simply some sweets, fruit and maybe one small toy or a coin!

  4. Lomza Rigney December 16, 2010 at 09:55 #

    It’s great webpage, I was looking for something like this

Leave a Reply

