The Treadmill

26 Jan

I wish I had something constructive to add at this point. The truth is: I don’t. I love Jesus. I just no longer know how to relate to the spaces where most of his people gather on the same treadmill week after month after year.

I wish I could care enough to do something about this, or perhaps easier, just not care at all. The problem is that I do care. I just don’t know the way forward. I feel found. I feel lost.

This quote is from John Smulo’s most recent post, which he has called Church Anxiety. His post relays my thoughts. I’m fed up with the treadmill. I’m fed up with talking about it. I don’t know what to do about it.

4 Responses to “The Treadmill”

  1. Erin January 26, 2009 at 15:43 #

    And I have all the answers…NOT.

    All we can do is stay with God and go where he goes…

  2. John January 26, 2009 at 16:01 #

    In a strange way, I feel hopeful that so many of us are going through this at the same time. It makes me think that there is probably something larger going on that isn’t fully clear yet. It also helps me to know I’m not alone.

    That said, I still feel every bit as frustrated and feel completely unsure of the best way forward.

  3. cindy January 27, 2009 at 02:40 #

    ditto that and that and that.

  4. lynhallewell January 27, 2009 at 08:18 #

    Ditto that, that and that too!

Leave a Reply

