Thanksgiving

12 Oct

It’s Thanksgiving Day today in Canada and I find myself thankful for so many things this year, to start with the fact that we get to have Thanksgiving here! Just five months ago we found ourselves wondering what the future held for us as our move to Canada seemed like it was closing down. We were in a state of confusion and devastation. We were questioning whether all of the things God had said and shown us were right, had we heard a thing? Why wasn’t the door opening? Four months ago all that changed and now as I write this I can see how God moved so perfectly in our situation at precisely the right time. I’m thankful to be on the other side and thankful that we survived those dark, stressful unknowing days which literally took everything we had out of us and more. We were stripped away, but I’m thankful for that.

I’m thankful for my family. I have two children who are blossoming and are so much fun to be with. I’m thankful for the sense of freedom they have. I’m thankful that Jonathan has a job, and that although it isn’t enough money to cover all of our outgoings, it’s a job nonetheless and there is food in our cupboards. I’m thankful that he works so hard, 9-5 at work and then on web design in the evenings and weekends, so that I can stay home and school the kids.

I’m thankful that I’m living and breathing. More than anything I’m so so thankful to God, for the way he moves in my life, in your life, in the world and for sending his son to bring redemption.

What are you thankful for?

3 Responses to “Thanksgiving”

  1. Jim October 13, 2009 at 11:33 #

    My wife, my kids, my folks, Les’s folks, our family, our friends, my job, Les almost being done with RN school (yay!), our house, our ability to help others, and so much more. Thanks, God!

  2. Erin October 13, 2009 at 13:19 #

    Right at this moment I’m thankful for the windows that keep the 30MPH wind out. 🙂

    Mostly I’m just thankful for life, health and home. Family, friends, and hope.

  3. Melissa Phillips October 14, 2009 at 14:51 #

    I am thankful that God is always with me. He helps us through all of life’s circumstances good or bad. It is when we stop being thankful we loose our ability to focus on the eternal. Bless!
    melissa

Leave a Reply

