Life Changes

24 Feb

I’m trying to change my life a bit at the moment. I think my life has somewhat become full of homeschooling and church debate. Gee, I sound interesting, eh? I’ve cleared out quite a few of my Christian blog subscriptions on my Google Reader, as I feel they were same old, same old; a bit like how I’ve been!

Many of you know that I knit, well, I’m about to learn how to crochet too! I have my birthday in a few weeks so I’ve got a teach yourself to crochet book coming! I’ve also got a photography book on the way. Here’s my confession, I own a Canon 350D EOS camera and I have no idea how to use it! I always have it on the manual setting! I love taking photos and want to be able to learn how to use the camera properly with the right exposure. I particularly like nature and landscape photography. Once I get more confident with using the camera on manual I’ll start posting some photos on here.

Another thing I want to be is to get more creative with the children. I’d like to try wet-on-wet painting with them and try to weave more arts throughout our day; be it marveling at the smell and touch of the apple blossom on a nature walk, to learning a new song or modeling with clay.

Some  blogs which I’ve enjoyed reading lately are:

The Pioneer Woman (if you enjoy cooking you are going to love this blog!)

Handmade Homeschool

Simple Mom

Soule Mama

2 Responses to “Life Changes”

  1. Sarah February 25, 2010 at 20:55 #

    Lyn,

    Sounds like spring cleaning life! I JUST taught myself to knit and I must say…I’m addicted! So in my busy homeschooling, pastor’s wife life it has become a way to just sit and THINK! It’s been quite amazing! Crocheting looks intimidating but maybe one day. Right now I’m enjoying the time knitting gives me to think…and it helps me to think up blog ideas too! 🙂

    I hope your church debate/trouble subsides soon…that’s exhausting!

  2. Lyn February 25, 2010 at 22:45 #

    I taught myself to knit about two years ago now and love it. Quite a few people I’ve come across actually learned to crochet first. There are a couple of crochet patterns that I want to do, so I’ll let you know how I get on. My daughter wants to knit, but she hasn’t quite got the hang of it yet, she’s getting there. I do wonder if crochet might be easier for her? Have you tried finger knitting with your kids?

    Church issues is one of the reasons we stepped out of ministry for a while. The main reason though was that God called us to this community in Canada and there is simply no “paid church” job here. My husband has been in ministry for sixteen years now without a sabbatical and he is simply burnt out. The break is doing us good. I’m pretty sure my husband will be back in ministry of some kind again soon. He’s a pastor at heart. Right now he spends a lot of his free time pastoring people here, it’s who he is.

    Are you on Ravelry (for knitting?) Go have a look if you’re not https://www.ravelry.com There are loads of patterns on there etc.

Leave a Reply

