The Best Gift

26 Jan

copyright Lyn Hallewell

I will always remember the day my eyes locked with the eyes of my husband (of the future!) for the first time. We had each come along with friends to join a wider group of young twenties who were going ice skating. Something just clicked, connected. Although it would be a few more months before we got together, we met up a few times before then in this wider group of friends. Each time we would hold these long gazes into each others eyes. it was like we knew we were meant to be together, even though neither one of us was verbalizing it at that point in time.

We’ve been married thirteen years this year and we’ve packed a lot into that time, including, two international moves, having two children, loosing a baby, gaining a cat and dog (and various other pets), walking through the painful five years of our sons eventual Aspergers diagnosis, finding out that our daughter has a visual processing disorder which makes reading painfully slow and frustrating for her, being flooded out of our home and our increased role in full-time ministry. There’s a lot more that I could write but it would take me off the focus of this post.

What is my focus? Well, I love this man so much. My husband, Jonathan, still makes me melt when he walks into a room. The wink of his eye lets me know that all is OK. When I sink into his arms, that shelter me, I feel home. Don’t get me wrong, we’ve had plenty of ups and downs in our marriage that we’ve had to work through. At points its seemed like just downs, this is when marriage gets tough and you have to dig in deep and remember why you made vows to each other. It’s not giving up at the first hurdle, but making a conscious decision, together, that your marriage is worth fighting for and battling over the hill, or mountain, and walking out the other side strengthened and renewed in your commitment to one another.

I admire Jonathan, he is such an honest and gentle guy and is always looking for the best in people. I watch him as he wrestles over the direction our church is going in, praying that God will continue to guide him and our leadership team. He wants to see the kingdom of God in his life, in other people’s life and in our family life. He is aware of his failures and doesn’t pretend to be who he is not. He won’t compromise and fulfill the expectations of who people think he should be. He knows that this will result in a let down for them. “Take me as I am” is what he always says.

Gentle as he is, he has this knack for pushing me out of my comfort zone, which I always resist, once out of it though I’m always glad for the nudge. His gentle urging has helped me to grow as a person. It took me the best of ten years to learn that he wants the best for me and the kids. In every decision he makes he is thinking about how it will affect us.

I’m looking forward to the years ahead, we have much more to do together. Jonathan loves me, he really loves me, I know this with all my heart. I thank God because He gave an unsure of herself, shy, twenty something girl the most wonderful gift in the form of a husband. For this I am forever grateful.

6 Responses to “The Best Gift”

  1. Wendy January 26, 2011 at 21:22 #

    Beautiful post Lyn!

  2. lynhallewell January 26, 2011 at 22:49 #

    Thanks Wendy!

  3. Erin January 26, 2011 at 23:49 #

    That is such a sweet post! Wish you guys continued wonder and amazement, and good times!

  4. lynhallewell January 27, 2011 at 20:33 #

    Thank you Erin x

  5. Sandra Green January 29, 2011 at 08:01 #

    Hi Lyn

    I remember that shy unsure of herself girl very well! and remember your lovely wedding day. I have followed yours and Jonathan’s Journey together from afar and am delighted to read your lovely blog. God bless you all and give my love to Jonathan.

    Sandra xx

  6. lynhallewell January 29, 2011 at 10:07 #

    Thanks Sandra 🙂

Leave a Reply

