Will All Imperfect People Step Forward!

15 Mar

I wrote this blog post out, on a piece of paper, in the car yesterday, while waiting for my daughters gymnastics class to finish. Guess what, unlike many blog posts today, I won’t mention a certain Mars Hill pastors name once!

I just dropped my daughter off at gymnastics. Most of the other kids had brought stuffed animals with them. Oh yes, its “Bring a stuffed animal to gymnastics day!” Despite looking at the calendar earlier on today and reminding myself of this, I forgot. I find myself, yet again, getting an F as a mother. I’ve failed to remember the smallest of things. It kind of sounds like I’m being harsh on myself, but I’m realizing that my life does not make the mark in so many ways. I’m imperfect. Lots of books out there have informed me about how I can be the perfect Mom, the perfect wife, the perfect Christian etc. I’ve read many of them! Despite the numerous “how to” lists within them all I still fail to make the grade.

The truth is my parenting sucks, my house could possibly look like it’s been burgled to anyone who doesn’t live in it. Homeschool – well, come this part of the school year I’m happy if we’re just getting English, math, science, history and geography done. Despite, in the fall, starting the school year with all guns blazing, come March break, it’s worn off and we are in survival mode until summer! My relationship with God ebbs and flows, a bit like my marriage.

Is the perfect person out there? No, I don’t think so. If you are, then please show yourself because I’m fascinated to know how you’ve got it all together! I wish people would start being real and stop pretending that they have it all together. I’m putting my hands up, I don’t!

2 Responses to “Will All Imperfect People Step Forward!”

  1. Jim March 15, 2011 at 14:03 #

    Not me! I’ll take a step back from the line, along with you. I am SO unperfect of a parent (and husband, and worker) I don’t even know where to start the list.

  2. Lac April 25, 2011 at 23:32 #

    Imperfect, uncertain, and finding that life goes smoother when i admit it and get on with things. Just stumbled onto your site. I am a new homeschooler to a 1stgrader!

Leave a Reply

