The One Where I Got Bad Mom Marks

12 Jul

I got the Mommy of the year award again today! I realized just over an hour before my son’s soccer game that his top and socks were WAY down at the bottom of the laundry bin. They washed in time, but did not completely dry! They were slightly damp to wear out, poor boy. It could have been worse though, at least I remembered! Imagine him wearing out a damp laundry bin scented top along with sweaty feet scented socks from his last game!

Anyway, I’m telling you this because I found this article on CNN today which talks about the do’s and do nots of what to say to your children. I confess that I do some of the do nots. Something like asking my kids to “Hurry Up” has never struck me as a “do not” thing to say. If I didn’t say it sometimes then I’d be waiting for a whole long time to get out of the house! How about you? Can you tick off everything on the list? Do you think articles like this are helpful? Do you think all the do not’s are realistic? Obviously things such as “Why can’t you be more like your sister” and “Stop or I’ll give you something to cry about” are no no’s, but things like “You know better than that” and “Hurry Up” seem like realistic things to say to children. Such as, my son, knows that it is wrong to hit, so if he does then I will say to him “You know better than that” because he does.

I’d be interested in your thoughts.

One Response to “The One Where I Got Bad Mom Marks”

  1. Jim July 12, 2011 at 21:35 #

    Articles like that make me mad. Basically, it is an extension of the “nanny state.” Kids are resilient – barring out and out abuse (physical or mental) they will get over most anything. And that’s good – because we’ve been raising them “wrong” for a long time as a species, and yet somehow we keep surviving.

Leave a Reply

