Rumors of God – Book Review

20 Jul

I wasn’t totally sure what to expect when I requested to review Darren Whitehead and Jon Tyson’s book “Rumors of God”. The book description on BookSneeze stated “Rumors of God is a call to Christians seeking a vision of the life God is calling them to, one that transcends the shallowness of our culture.” This excited me as I have this constant struggle with being a Christian in our western culture where everything is very “me” directed and not “God” directed. However, I was also worried that this book would be the same kind of Christian “follow these simple steps” kind of book and everything will be OK. I was wrong! I devoured this book and read it in @three hours.

The aim of the book is to help people see the cultural and spiritual obstacles the Western church faces and how to overcome them. In the book they discuss things such as  justice, community, generosity, love and freedom. They point out how gullible Christians have become to marketing and have bought into the whole materialistic culture. How we hide behind social networks. The refusal to forgive those who have wronged us and so on. The chapter that really hit me was the chapter on justice. Not only do they come a justice from a different angle, but they also highlight that in the OT righteousness and justice appear together many times, but in the NT justice is never mentioned. That is because the Greek word for righteousness is also the same word for justice. Go through your NT and add justice after all the verses that mention righteousness and see what you have. It puts a whole new meaning on some scripture!

Whitehead and Tyson have co-authored this book extremely well and they have a really easy to read writing style without too much jargon. They are both Australian by birth, have been friends for twenty years, and are now working in the US as pastors in Chicago and New York. I loved reading Rumors of God and would recommend it to others.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

