Fresh-Brewed Life Book Review

2 Oct

Fresh-Brewed Life: A Stirring Invitation to Wake Up Your Soul, is an updated re-release of a book by the same title that Nicole Johnson released ten years ago. In this book the author addresses issues that touch on women’s lives today. Topics include longings, embracing your beauty, anger, sexuality, friendships, freedom and surrender to God. There is also a chapter about journaling, which encourages the reader to write out prayers, thoughts and emotions.

The chapter that stood out to me the most was the one on embracing your beauty. The author really tackles the tension women have through the media, through men and other women about how they should look, what size dress they should wear and so on.

I didn’t particularly get a lot out of this book. It is not that the theme was bad, I think a lot of the topics are things that I’ve read a lot about recently so I have read nothing new. I also didn’t really gel with the authors writing style. The book was slow going in places and I found myself skipping pages to move it on a bit. This book has been well received by many and must be merited for that. It just hasn’t been the book for me. Would I recommend it to others? Yes, I would, as it has some practical life solutions within it.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

