Five Minute Friday – Tired

2 Dec

For only five short, bold, beautiful minutes. Unscripted and unedited. We just write without worrying if it’s just right or not.

      1. Write for 5 minutes flat – no editing, no over thinking, no backtracking.
      2. Link back here and invite others to join in.


3. Most importantly: leave a comment for the person who linked up before you – encouraging them in their writing!

Tired…


FreeDigitalPhotos.net


GO!

I chuckled to myself when I saw the word for today’s Five Minute Friday. It seems to me that my response to people this year, when asked how I am, is that I am tired. It’s been a long, busy year and I am, well, tired! We are 18 months into transitioning our church and it has been quite a stressful and fast paced time. Turning the church around has been difficult and not without cost. The honeymoon period was very short lived. I could quite happily go on an extended vacation to recover, but the work is not yet done. In same ways, it’s just beginning. There is a long way to go. This, in itself, makes me feel even more exhausted! However, I’ve realised this year how much God sustains me if I push into him each and every day. I’ve learned that when I don’t push into him that I can become disillusioned, overwhlemed and lose hope. When I give myself to Him, he gives me peace, hope, brings surprises and gives me the energy to carry on.

My husband and I are intentionally having a quieter Christmas period this year. We recognise that we can’t keep up with the pace it has been. We need time to reflect, regroup and re-energize. I’ve experienced God stretching me this year, way beyond my comfort zones and capacity. Yet, I’ve grown so much. I also feel like I’ve aged some. There are definitely more grey hairs and crows feet than this time last year! I’m fighting off a cold right now, which is desperately trying to come out. I can feel the ache in my legs, my throat is sore and my eyes are sore and tired. Today is our day off and it seems like a good day to rest up, sleep and shake off some of this tiredness.

STOP!

The photo above is by Karen Shaw you can view more of her photos at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

4 Responses to “Five Minute Friday – Tired”

  1. Beth @ Living James 2 December 2, 2011 at 13:36 #

    Hello….just stopping by from Five Minute Friday. 🙂

    Saying a prayer for you right now that you get the physical and mental rest you desperately need right now. I’ve had years like you’ve described in the past, where I could definitely see that I’d physically aged a lot from the stress of the year. Never a good thing.

    Hoping you are able to enjoy a wonderful, relaxing, meaningful Christmas season.

  2. beingmade December 2, 2011 at 14:33 #

    It feels so good to sink into that rest sometimes, doesn’t it? I hope that you’re given some time to breathe and retreat and that your heart and your body will soon feel rested.

  3. lynhallewell December 2, 2011 at 15:56 #

    Thank you! Merry Christmas to you too.

  4. lynhallewell December 2, 2011 at 15:56 #

    It certainly does!

Leave a Reply

