One Word – Believe

31 Dec

Here we are at the end of another year. It’s been a difficult year for a lot of people around the world. I, for one, am looking forward to saying goodbye to 2011. It has been a challenging and painful year, to say the least. My prayer is that 2012 is going to be a year of possibilities and breakthrough.


For a few weeks I’ve been praying and thinking about what my One Word for 2012 will be. I haven’t really been getting much and was beginning to think that I’d just have to pull a word out of a hat! Yesterday, after some time praying, God gave it to me. My word for 2012 is

believe


I wasn’t sure with this word at first. I thought to myself “Of course I believe” and I kind of felt a little embarrassed about sharing this word as my husband and I are lead pastors of a church! As I pondered over this word I think God showed me what he meant.

This year I need to believe in God’s power. That His power is greater than anything. That He moves in power.

I need to believe that if God has promised and said it will happen that it will, He doesn’t need my constant reminders or (un)helpful intervention.

I need to believe that God is a miracle maker, that he still performs miracles and healings today. I just need to open my eyes and see.

I need to believe that I am fearfully and wonderfully made, created with loving hands for this time. I am fiercely loved.

I need to believe in myself and what God can do through me.


believe


When I shared this word with my husband his immediate response was “Well, that’s pretty much the same as trusting” True, to believe is to trust.

Out of interest I looked up the Hebrew word for believe. It is Aman. Aman also means to be faithful and to trust. One of the names of God is El Aman, which means faithful God. This is used in Deut 7:9 

“Understand, therefore, that the Lord your God is indeed God. He is the faithful God who keeps his covenant for a thousand generations and lavishes his unfailing love on those who love him and obey his commands.” (NLT)
 
 

What’s your word for 2012? Link up here at One Word 365

Then Jesus told him, “You believe because you have seen me. Blessed are those who believe without seeing me.” John 20:29 (NLT)

 


 

6 Responses to “One Word – Believe”

  1. Jim January 2, 2012 at 13:59 #

    I think my one word is related – “submit.”

  2. Tracee January 2, 2012 at 21:33 #

    such a powerful word. Believe is my life mantra and tatt. It is the one thing i think about constantly. it impacts everything and anything. excited to see how this word impacts your year!

  3. Kristin January 3, 2012 at 20:27 #

    My word is discipline. . .people who know me think I am, but it is so easy to let laziness slip in. I want to be more intentional and more disciplined this year. Please say a prayer for me and I will pray for you:)
    Blessings to you this new year.
    (visiting from One Word blog)

  4. lynhallewell January 3, 2012 at 22:33 #

    Submit, oh, that’ll be an interesting word.

  5. lynhallewell January 3, 2012 at 22:35 #

    It is a powerful word. With everything I’ve been in situations over the past few days where I’ve questioned “Do I really believe this” I think it’ll be an interesting year!

  6. lynhallewell January 3, 2012 at 22:37 #

    I certainly will pray. Discipline will, no doubt, be a challenge.

Leave a Reply

